We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable & Getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I wasnt thrilled with my first stay, the hallway to the room had a terrible smell, I suppose this was due to the all the upgrades they're doing. The room was a decent size and for the most part clean.

This last time I was there I was given one of the newly updated rooms and was much better. The room was updated and the bathroom was clean and comfortable. The bed was great, no complaints there and the staff is helpful. Breakfast is complimentary and is exactly what free breakfasts' are like, ... usually nothing special, but good enough.

The location is super convenient to the airport (which is great since SJ is pretty dull and tasteless). Its also very close to public transportation so getting into "downtown" SJ takes under 10 min.

Would I recommend this place, ... I suppose so, its fine for people on a budget and families.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 386 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Spent the night at the Fairfield Suites San Jose Airport on a quick business trip. Luckily, I only slept in the room and did not spend much time there. The good: it's very near the airport. It has new carpet (but much of the facility is going through renovation). That's pretty much it.

The bad: Dirty. Air duct in the bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. The microwave and mini fridge were plugged into a power strip that was dangling on the side of a cabinet. The AC control on the wall doesn't work; you have to use the manual controls on the unit against the outside wall (why would they have controls on the wall?). Parking is not great; share parking with some very busy fast food restaurants.

I am a Marriott regular, and this hotel was way below the standards for Marriott (even for their "basic" hotel brand). I would not return to this hotel if I had to do anything but sleep there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoda B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear BoltZone,

Thank you for your review; we do apologize that you had an unpleasant experience and are encouraging our staff to pay more attention to details based on your feedback. We are pleased to announce that the renovations of our guestrooms, meeting spaces and public areas have completed. Not only did we replace the carpet in our guestrooms; we’ve revamped them with completely refaced restrooms, 37’ flat screen TV’s, new furniture, mattresses, décor and tapestries. You may also be pleasantly surprised with the completion of our modern and contemporary lobby that now houses a convenient market and the brand new fitness equipment in our gym.

We are aware that the AC units in some of our guestrooms are working manually and have our maintenance staff active on improving those guestrooms affected.

While our parking lot may be stressful during peak lunch hours, we pride ourselves with the ability to provide our guests free parking and being within walking distance to a variety of eateries.

Again, we do apologize for your dissatisfaction. Please let us know if we can offer a complimentary upgrade to your room during your next stay or Marriott Reward points.

Regards,
Rhoda Balbas, General Manager
Pinky Bagasbas, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

In town for the night and booked the Fairfield online, didn't see online about the renovations in progress, but looked later and did see I missed it the first time. Ladies at check in were very friendly. Main lobby in under construction now. Room was a nice room, but with the construction and amenities, I think the price was very high. Pretty decent location, a lot of food in walking distance, if needed.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Phenom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a property that is undergoing renovation, so there are some obstacles to deal with along with the updates. Check-in was very efficient in the temporary quarters, and the staff did a professional job. The newly renovated rooms are very nice with fresh carpet, wall covering, new artwork, and freshened bathroom. The towels were fresh and plush. After a long day, the comfy bed was a treat! A good nights sleep was insured with the quiet courtyard facing room.

The downside was the next morning when we went to the breakfast area. The eggs were thin disks and the bacon was paper-thin swirly shaped disks. Surprise - surprise - both were refrigerator cold! Who puts this out for their guests?? The tables were all dirty with food and liquids on every table or counter seating area save one table. I noticed food, a napkin and plastic fork on the floor under tables in the breakfast room while two staff members chatted in the kitchen area.

The management should all have to eat their first meal of the day in these conditions for a month to understand the 'hospitality' that they are extending their guests. This is the hospitality industry isn't it?

My bottom line recommendation - sleep in the new rooms, and go across the parking lot for a great coffee and breakfast sandwich.

Room Tip: Pool/courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank tomp465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel used to be a sprawling motel that has been nicely renovated. The rooms are quite sizable and (the renovated ones) are furnished per Fairfield's standards.
The sprawling layout makes for a winding walk through hallways from the lobby to your room.
There is a pool and nice outdoor garden which is different from most Fairfields/Residence Inns.
Location is 2 blocks away from SJC airport and 1 block away from the Caltrain tracks, lots of restaurants/eateries nearby.
I'd rate their breakfast a B- by Fairfield standards.
Standard rate is expensive for what you get, but I had a client-negotiated rate which was 20% lower than what was on the website so it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Stay in the renovated wings/rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstonturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The location is close to the airport, but the rooms are very small and a bit overpriced for what you get. Casino is next door and provides a good landmark.

Staff was nice, but halls are very loud as I could here every conversation. Not good if you are trying to sleep.

Overall, not bad. Probably would not rush back but would stay again if in a pinch.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is for extended stay and, like all Fairfield inn & suites has excellent facilities such as full kitchen, laundry room, etc.

But this hotel is a cross the fence from the Santa Clara train station. It is busy all day and all night. The hotel was designed poorly to block this noise and so it is very annoying.

Room Tip: Choose parking lot side. Not train track side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayEOneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
0.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#12 of 75 in San Jose
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Jose Airport
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport

Address: 1755 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $110 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Jose Airport is a top choice among hotels in San Jose, CA. Rates at our hotel include a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring fresh Belgian waffles, hot items and an assortment of healthy and hearty options. We offer free wireless & wired high speed internet access, self-parking and airport shuttle service. Each room contains a mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, large safe and balcony or patio access. Access is provided to our outdoor heated pool & Jacuzzi, exercise room, 24 hour business center & corner market. We are located on the same lot as Starbucks, Wong Kok Hawaiian & Chinese Cuisine, Pho Viet (open late), Chipotle, Subway and New York Pizza & Dogs. Within walking distance is M8trix Casino/Zone 8 Sports bar and the Metro Airport Light Rail Station where you can catch a ride to Levi’s Stadium, SAP Center, San Jose McEnery Convention Center, CA’s Great America and MORE! Whether your business in San Jose is work or pleasure, we are your perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Jose Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
Fairfield Inn San Jose
Fairfield San Jose
San Jose Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing