We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, but got what i paid for!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #56 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Snyder, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok, but got what i paid for!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I found this place after booking airfare. Beware: it looked far better pic wise than what is was, not a boutique hotel. the location was great for us(we had a car) but most people staying here walked to the convention center. about 1 mile. $76 nightly as opposed to $100 plus parking so that was my mantra! old but somewhere to sleep. small breakfast but there was breads/cereals/coffee. the 'never going back' clincher for me: homeless people hung around the front lawn area. 1 morning my hubs saw 1 eating breakfast & the man told the clerk, I have money in the bank so will be staying another night. so cheap, a place to sleep but the homeless also stay there. heads up!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trackerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    10
    10
    23
See reviews for
11
12
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

First: BED BUGS - After my first night I woke up with a few bug bites and thought it could be a mosquito or something... Second night I woke up with bites all over my body, eyes, forehead, neck, back, arms, fingers, literally all over. I had never seen bed bugs before nor experienced anything so aggressive... I started itching and little blisters appeared on each bug bite...

I went to the front desk and asked them if they ever had any guests complaining about bed bugs... The response was: "We hear things, but we never saw anything..." Then I asked the person at the counter to take a good look at my body and asked them if they were able to see that now???

They moved me from room 453 to room 448.... I am sorry, I might not be following... Doesn't that just carry the bugs over now that I have all my clothes exposed to this monster insect? I switched rooms but I got more bites... I tried for 4 days to speak to a manager and the manager was never there. I attended the event looking like I had chicken pox, I felt contagious... What if this "thing" is hiding somewhere and just spreads to more people at the conference? I had plans to stay with a friend after the event for 2 days, had to get another hotel and an additional expense because I didn't want to bring their bug infestation to someone else's home.

I don't even know how I am going to do to go home... How can I go home??? I called the Pest Control Health Department, filed a report, they already had a report from previous months... If anyone has experienced this unfortunate event, please do something! Call and file a complaint at 408-918-4770, think of the children staying there... I am an adult and I fell off balance with this, felt uncomfortable, felt contagious in public while attending a conference... Can you imagine the itching discomfort I am feeling if now we are talking about a little kid?

If you see something I just ask you to please, DO SOMETHING... And based on my review and several others about this hotel, I am sure you can find a better place for the same price range to stay... If you read the other Hotel reviews, you will notice I am not the first one to suffer.

**************************************************­*************************************

Second: CUSTOMER SERVICE - I arrived early and even though they had rooms available they declined to check me in a bit earlier if I didn't pay a $10 fine. I had to work so I stayed at their lobby working on my computer until I was finally able to check in. A Spanish speaking guest arrived and asked the manager about his reservation and instead of trying to understand, she just replied with a bit of an attitude: "I don't speak Spanish". When I heard that, I approached and offered the gentleman to help him as I did understand and even if I didn't I would still try to help.

**************************************************­*************************************

Third: BREAKFAST - Breakfast is included and has a set times to be served ending at 10 am. I came to the breakfast serving area (aka lobby) at 8 am and there was nothing... I asked about the times to serve breakfast and the person behind the counter said, oh, we ran out of stuff... If you are in the hotel business and there is a 5,000 plus people conference going on in town YOU SHOULD BE PREPARED!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crisrepoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
439 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Found the Elan had a room when no one else did...the price makes this place tolerable. The Elan has decorations including carpet,tv's,dressers and wallpaper from the 70s ...but in saying that....was very clean for what they had to work with...it was quiet...comfortable and clean....would stay again..

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We booked this hotel through Hotwire the morning of our afternoon arrival. We were touring California and this was our last night in the state. We wanted a downtown San Jose hotel but that's not what we got. This grim motel was situated in a sinister neighbourhood, more than a mile from downtown, amongst repo yards and low income housing. There was a car with shaded windows, the occupant revving the engine while road crew workers pulled in to the parking lot. The room was dark and dated and the inside of the door was marked as if it was previously broken in upon. Nothing about this place seemed right and my husband and daughter and I agreed that it was too sketchy a place for us to stay the night. We were refused our money back but at no price were we going to stay and worry about our safety. When we called Hotwire to complain about the state and condition of the hotel, they called the hotel who refused to allow us a refund as it was against their cancellation policy. Do not go here if you want a downtown San Jose hotel with security features because it has neither.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFcycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is worst ever and their service is really bad. I was their one of loyal customer since last three yrs and each time after booking one bed room they used to give me double bed room and they be nice when it comes to their fault when you ask for your room they will say they gave to some one imagine Also, they will disconnect the wifi from office and say its our laptops does not working and all but all time when you go in office its their router and they do not want to connect back also, when their room AC is not working they will say yah let me change your room and all stuff again and again but when you do ask coz room is not good, they will say we will charge you for room change fees which they never did in past their new workers are really bad and worst so bad behaved. They lost their loyal customer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sursonu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Set in a lower-middle income, mixed residential/commercial neighborhood on a busy thoroughfare. Some airport noise. No nearby amenities. No ice machine. No flat screen TV. Coffee maker in the room did not work but was quickly replaced. Either we had noisy neighbors or sound just carries easily in the building.

The room itself was adequate, indifferently furnished, clean. The bed was pleasantly firm. Cold breakfast OK, served in the lobby with no tables.

Room Tip: Take your choice of street noise in the front or airport noise in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Somewhat mediocre place... clean but not very inviting. Very cheap owners. Ice maker temporarily broken and the owners were too cheap to buy a couple of bags of ice so that customers would have ice. Instead, they used the ice maker in the refrigerator in the office that made very little ice, so there was very little ice for customers. Breakfast was not very good and they only had seating for two people. Near noisy airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#33 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#35 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- San Jose Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Property: Hotel Elan
Address: 1215 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95110-3429 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express - San Jose)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elan 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan San Jose is a new renovated, contemporary hotel in a prime location for business travelers featuring free wifi and complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Just 1 mile from the San Jose Convention Center and Downtown San Jose Hotel Elan is the ideal "home base" for your visit to Silicon Valley. Hotel Elan offers boutique charm and modern amenities. Each spacious guestroom has a work desk with comfortable, ergonomic chair, cable tv with premium channels, full size ironing board, minifridge and coffee maker. Our Urban Spa Guestrooms feature Jacuzzi Jet Tubs with therapeutic water jets. Enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast every morning featuring bagels, cereals, muffins, assorted breads, fresh apples and oranges along with fruit juices. Complimentary coffee is served 24 hours a day in our lobby. Hotel Elan is conveniently located just six miles from San Jose International Airport. Minutes from Highway 280, 101, 880 and 87, Hotel Elan easy access to numerous Silicon Valley businesses in San Jose, Mountain View and Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Jose
San Jose Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing