We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel ever”
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is worst ever and their service is really bad. I was their one of loyal customer since last three yrs and each time after booking one bed room they used to give me double bed room and they be nice when it comes to their fault when you ask for your room they will say they gave to some one imagine Also, they will disconnect the wifi from office and say its our laptops does not working and all but all time when you go in office its their router and they do not want to connect back also, when their room AC is not working they will say yah let me change your room and all stuff again and again but when you do ask coz room is not good, they will say we will charge you for room change fees which they never did in past their new workers are really bad and worst so bad behaved. They lost their loyal customer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sursonu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 66 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Set in a lower-middle income, mixed residential/commercial neighborhood on a busy thoroughfare. Some airport noise. No nearby amenities. No ice machine. No flat screen TV. Coffee maker in the room did not work but was quickly replaced. Either we had noisy neighbors or sound just carries easily in the building.

The room itself was adequate, indifferently furnished, clean. The bed was pleasantly firm. Cold breakfast OK, served in the lobby with no tables.

Room Tip: Take your choice of street noise in the front or airport noise in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Somewhat mediocre place... clean but not very inviting. Very cheap owners. Ice maker temporarily broken and the owners were too cheap to buy a couple of bags of ice so that customers would have ice. Instead, they used the ice maker in the refrigerator in the office that made very little ice, so there was very little ice for customers. Breakfast was not very good and they only had seating for two people. Near noisy airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I wound up at the Hotel Elan in San Jose because we waited too long to book a reservation in Palo Alto. When we first pulled up the very friendly security guard met us at our car. I thought oh-no what did we get ourselfs into. The neighborhood was so-so, but the Motel was great. freshly renovated, clean and great people working there. At night my wife got a kick at the hookers and druggies walking up and down the street. She said I can't believe they wear such revealing clothes in this cold weather. The place is completely fenced in though and we felt very safe staying there. We met the morning guard and the late shift guard and they both did an excellent job of making us feel at ease there. The hotel was pet friendly though and that's what is important to us. They only charged us $20.00 on top of the $74.00 room rate plus tax of course. We thought it was a great bargin...well worth the money. the continental breakfast was great too. Everything we wanted and then some. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room facing the street. The views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

$89+tax was a good price (especially for downtown San Jose) for this particular stay. It wasn't for vacation or business. We went to a concert that was over late. Rather than drive a distance I decided to stay close to the venue. This little hotel (motel) was clean, rather spartan, and was fine for an 11pm - 8am sleep over. Shower was clean. It was quiet. Exterior was clean and neat. Two small complaints: stuffy smell when first entering room - after there a while, it seemed to subside; and the twist on/off button was missing from one of the bedside lamps so I couldn't use it. Other than that, all was fine. I was stay overnight there again but wouldn't recommend it if you wanted a "nice" room for extended stay.

Room Tip: Look for a AAA (the auto services company) rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnowsWhatSheLikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had book one room in sep 2 week before we went there. I call them and told them i am going to be late. When I reach there front desk lady said I have not book the room. After I show the confermation number and all the paper. After taking 45 to 50 minutes and lots of talking finally she gave me the room. Never trust them what they say. Next morning I had to attend the wedding. I could not think what I should do. The room she gave me it was very bad and it was late rooms carpet was damp and lots of stain and smelling realy bad. In morning continental breakfast was bad they had old begal and all the other things were very old fruit was bad too crusant was smelling bad it had funny. I just trashed all that. and next day they did not even maid the bed. when my daughter went to them and ask them about that front desk lady said they do not make the bed unless you ask them night before. I have never heard that you have to adkthem to get bed done. I will never ask anyone to stay there. I have never seen sucha terrible place. so please do not even think to stay at that place. one more thing they saythey give free internet but it never work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gr912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.6 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
0.9 mi away
Pacific Motor Inn
Pacific Motor Inn
#30 of 75 in San Jose
378 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
3.8 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#41 of 75 in San Jose
116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Address: 1215 S 1st St, San Jose, CA 95110-3429 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express - San Jose)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: $123 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Elan 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan San Jose is a new renovated, contemporary hotel in a prime location for business travelers featuring free wifi and complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Just 1 mile from the San Jose Convention Center and Downtown San Jose Hotel Elan is the ideal "home base" for your visit to Silicon Valley. Hotel Elan offers boutique charm and modern amenities. Each spacious guestroom has a work desk with comfortable, ergonomic chair, cable tv with premium channels, full size ironing board, minifridge and coffee maker. Our Urban Spa Guestrooms feature Jacuzzi Jet Tubs with therapeutic water jets. Enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast every morning featuring bagels, cereals, muffins, assorted breads, fresh apples and oranges along with fruit juices. Complimentary coffee is served 24 hours a day in our lobby. Hotel Elan is conveniently located just six miles from San Jose International Airport. Minutes from Highway 280, 101, 880 and 87, Hotel Elan easy access to numerous Silicon Valley businesses in San Jose, Mountain View and Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Jose
San Jose Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing