We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Anza
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed September 22, 2013

As many have said the location is great, just down the street from the SAP Center (aka Shark Tank), San Pedro Square and all it's restaurants around the corner.

Problems: The room had a strong smell of some kind of perfumy disinfectant. I'd rather smell nothing, than some artificail perfume smell. The room was too cold for me, couldn't figure out how to get the heater working, there is no thermostat visible anywhere. It's behind a small metal door, inside an unlabled knob, turingin didn't seem to have any effect. The temp combined witht he neck breakingly thick pillow made for a poor night of sleep. Side sleepers like me don't want a 1 foot thick pillow. There should be normal thickness pillows in the room. If they were there, I couldn't find them. Many hotels have these crazy thick pillows, I don't get it.

The staff was just Ok. Tried to call room service at about 10:30pm, it went to an answering machine. Called the front desk let it ring about 30 times, no answer. Called back again a few mins later, got an answer on about the 10th ring.

The $15 buffet breakfast at the ajoining La Pastia, seemed like they bought most of it at Costco and set it out for us. Couldn't decide if the eggs were powdered or real, they had a strange grainy texture.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Anza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 641 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Nicely appointed rooms, very clean, and friendly staff. Location was perfect for a quick business trip in and out of SJ. Plenty of place to eat within walking distance, starbucks just two blocks away.

HOWEVER - be warned. The dated AC/Heating unit in theses rooms are LOUD. Add to this the noise from the street (including car alarm and sirens), and it adds up to a less then stellar sleep. I had flown to town for some important all-day meetings, and barely slept a wink because of the all the noise - I was not happy the next morning.

If you do stay here, I strongly suggest requesting a room that is away from the street.

They have a complimentary all night "raid our pantry" deal, that provides guest free food, snacks, etc between 10 pm. and 5 am. I didn't check it out, but definitely an original perk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizL31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

First the positives: It is a beautiful renovation of a historic deco building. The location is excellent - walking distance to convention center, San Jose State U., many of the major businesses and lots of restaurants.

I should point out that I am used to and enjoy staying in smaller boutique hotels that frequently have small rooms because they are renovations of old buildings. That is not a negative to me. But the room I had was about the smallest I have ever stayed in. The heater/air conditioning unit (a very old fashioned type) is on (not recessed) the wall that is literally an arms length from the bed. It is noisy and blows directly on you if you are sleeping. I had to turn it off at night but really didn't want to because it was muggy. The staff were, well, average and lackluster. No complaints but at this price level for this type of hotel I have come to expect a lot more smiles and efforts to provide service. Coffee service in the lobby was minimal and ended very early. Fortunately Starbucks and Peets are easy walk away. They have a unique feature called their "pantry" which you can "raid" only between the hours of 10pm and 5 am. They had fruit and coffee and cold cuts, bread and some fixins'. But the quality was mediocre. I have had better from 7-11 - seriously! The bread was stale (2 days) and the cold cuts were dry.

If this were at a very different price point I would be more generous with my ratings. But at the price I paid (even with a steep discount), I expect more. Again - no real complaints (other than the air/heat being so close to bed) but nothing that would really bring me back.

Room Tip: The odd number rooms seem to be the ones with the lousy views. I stayed in an odd number room (4th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel De Anza and you cannot beat the price and location. Lovely historic building within walking distance of the nightlife at San Pedro Square. I love the way the ice & water machines are tucked into cabinets on every floor - so many hotels require you wander around in your pajamas looking for the room with the ice machine. The Raid the Pantry is a nice idea, but the room is SO narrow that it's impossible to make you way to the cold cuts and bread in the back if there are more than 3 people in the room. I liked the hotel very much and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SportsFan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here recently at the suggestion of a friend I'm glad I did!

Rooms are very spacious and well-appointed. The bathrooms spotless and well stocked.

But....the real jewel here is the Hedley Club and it's "host" Harold. Every libation was perfect and Harold's timing precise. I was pleasantly surprised when Harold picked-up a bass guitar and wowed the crowd with his Jazz combo.

Thanks, folks! I'll be back!

Room Tip: No bad rooms here. All have great views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ib4cruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Too expensive, the place is like a 1980's time capsule complete with corded phones, plastic wrap soaps, and disinfectant Lysol odor. Just not up to par for a business traveler looking for a comfortable bed. And the climate control is still from the 1930's. hot, cold, off. Those are your choices. Stay at the Hyatt or Fairmont.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

In San Jose to look for daughter's wedding venue-scheduled with wedding coordinator so figured would stay one night to feel the vibe on first night with plans to move to another hotel to check their vibe. Room was small (expected-a refurbished old hotel) but beautiful & clean with a great view. Given great rate due to scheduled appointment so this was an added plus. Staff was nice-had no interaction w housekeeping-bar beautiful-staff also great. They have a Friday Jazz session w no cover charge and no drink requirement; place was filled but layout made it comfortable to feel intimate. Located downtown in vicinity of walking to many restaurants and clubs/bars. With all, extremely pleased-we did not move to the next hotel. Venue for wedding is great-up to the bride & groom to make decision-I just carry the check book-LOL. Unfortunately, family emergency required us to leave in the middle of the 2nd night-staff was great in checking us out and having our car brought around in a timely manner. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.5 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Address: 233 W Santa Clara St, San Jose, CA 95113-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $181 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Anza, a downtown San Jose boutique hotel, welcomes you to the ultimate combination of classic Art Deco architecture, modern comfort and exceptional hospitality. Located near the SAP Center, San Jose Convention Center and the best restaurants and attractions, this iconic Northern California hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places and just three miles from the San Jose Airport. Offering signature amenities, comfortable rooms, unique meeting venues and event spaces tailored to fit the needs of the savvy traveler, you'll find it all at Hotel De Anza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing