We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Anza
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located in the center of downtown San Jose Business District, Very freindly hotel check in, and valet parking a breeze, Hotel was quiet and clean and had nice bathroom, even had small tv in bathroom, price was fair for area. The Italian restuarant downstairs smelled heavenly, though we did not eat there, and there is a jazz club also located there. I forgot my computer there and did not realize to 2 days later and called and they got back to me that they did have it and fed ex'd it to me, which was very nice, honest staff..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    164
    98
    53
    40
See reviews for
96
191
32
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked my stay at Hotel De Anza for business and was very pleased with this hotel. It's not fancy like the Fairmont, but it was very cute and cozy. The room was very comfortable and updated. The location is perfect for walking around downtown San Jose. Valet parking is also easily accessible. Love how they leave you treats upon arrival!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lovely Art Deco Hotel. We were meeting a group so booked for the night. Friendly reception and nice rooms. Located very close to the Cal Train station and walking distance to the downtown area. Breakfast was fine although the only choice was the buffet. My only complaint was the lack of Wi-fi. It was not working which I find slightly ironic being in the heart of Silicon valley. The wifi issue followed us on our travels through
Central California.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyWestKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently attended a show at the HP and stayed at Hotel De Anza. I opted for the king suite which was on a corner but not facing the main street. The hotel is a remarkable restored property in the art deco mode. I loved having a coffee grinder and fresh beans in my room. They also have pure water and ice dispenses to take in glass pitchers to your room. The restaurant La Pastaio is a lovely Italian restaurant and also serves breakfast in the mornings. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's also just a couple of blocks from CalTrain if you're coming down from the city so no car needed.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer more quiet plus more spacious. I stayed on floor 8 on the east rear side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had three rooms for four nights for business and needed to cancel one room after two nights. Even though they admitted they were completely booked (and thus could easily rent the room) they insisted on charging us for room. I was somewhat offended by the snooty tone of the lady at the front desk who basically told me that's our policy, take it or leave it. /Well, from now on we will leave it. We are in San Jose for business a lot but I will take our business elsewhere. There are many good options in downtown San Jose.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We weren't expecting much but were really wowed by gracious reception and very pleasant rooms. We arrived late and were directed to the bar for a quick dinner. Wow - what an amazing room. Beautifully decorated, relaxing seating, terrific food and a four piece band. It was the best squash pasta I have ever had. If your travels take you to San Jose, this hotel is a great option.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TriciaandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

but they say its being fixed. Great Staff no real close off site parking. Liked the raid our pantry program nice to be able to get a little something with out a lotbof fuss. The HVAC in the room was questionable and OLD but the windows opened which was really nice.

What I apriciated most about the staff is when they were having the WiFi issue they moved me to a room right over the lobby in which it worked great.

Room Tip: Check the WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#11 of 75 in San Jose
1,148 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Property: Hotel De Anza
Address: 233 W Santa Clara St, San Jose, CA 95113-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing