We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Hotel in San Jose”
Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Anza
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lovely Art Deco Hotel. We were meeting a group so booked for the night. Friendly reception and nice rooms. Located very close to the Cal Train station and walking distance to the downtown area. Breakfast was fine although the only choice was the buffet. My only complaint was the lack of Wi-fi. It was not working which I find slightly ironic being in the heart of Silicon valley. The wifi issue followed us on our travels through
Central California.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyWestKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 646 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently attended a show at the HP and stayed at Hotel De Anza. I opted for the king suite which was on a corner but not facing the main street. The hotel is a remarkable restored property in the art deco mode. I loved having a coffee grinder and fresh beans in my room. They also have pure water and ice dispenses to take in glass pitchers to your room. The restaurant La Pastaio is a lovely Italian restaurant and also serves breakfast in the mornings. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's also just a couple of blocks from CalTrain if you're coming down from the city so no car needed.

Room Tip: Corner suites offer more quiet plus more spacious. I stayed on floor 8 on the east rear side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had three rooms for four nights for business and needed to cancel one room after two nights. Even though they admitted they were completely booked (and thus could easily rent the room) they insisted on charging us for room. I was somewhat offended by the snooty tone of the lady at the front desk who basically told me that's our policy, take it or leave it. /Well, from now on we will leave it. We are in San Jose for business a lot but I will take our business elsewhere. There are many good options in downtown San Jose.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank rebecca f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We weren't expecting much but were really wowed by gracious reception and very pleasant rooms. We arrived late and were directed to the bar for a quick dinner. Wow - what an amazing room. Beautifully decorated, relaxing seating, terrific food and a four piece band. It was the best squash pasta I have ever had. If your travels take you to San Jose, this hotel is a great option.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TriciaandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

but they say its being fixed. Great Staff no real close off site parking. Liked the raid our pantry program nice to be able to get a little something with out a lotbof fuss. The HVAC in the room was questionable and OLD but the windows opened which was really nice.

What I apriciated most about the staff is when they were having the WiFi issue they moved me to a room right over the lobby in which it worked great.

Room Tip: Check the WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was recommended for guests attending a special wedding last weekend. Our party included 3 rooms and a separate suite. Our rooms were all close together, as requested. The suite was a great place for us to gather after the reception and for morning coffee. AND what a nice bonus to "raid the pantry". I missed a coffee maker in our room but saw from an earlier comment that one was provided when requested. I was very impressed with the hotel staff, from reception to valets. All friendly and professional. Unfortunately we were too tired after the wedding reception to make it to the Hedley Club and listen to jazz. Another time. We also didn't have a chance to try the restaurant. Another time. We look forward to staying here again. This is an excellent location to downtown San Jose and the HP Pavillion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southbaytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were booked at the De Anza for business and were very pleased. The room was very comfortable and updated. The location is perfect for walking around downtown San Jose. Many restaurants close by. No complaints here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#6 of 75 in San Jose
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.5 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Address: 233 W Santa Clara St, San Jose, CA 95113-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $176 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Anza, a downtown San Jose boutique hotel, welcomes you to the ultimate combination of classic Art Deco architecture, modern comfort and exceptional hospitality. Located near the SAP Center, San Jose Convention Center and the best restaurants and attractions, this iconic Northern California hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places and just three miles from the San Jose Airport. Offering signature amenities, comfortable rooms, unique meeting venues and event spaces tailored to fit the needs of the savvy traveler, you'll find it all at Hotel De Anza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing