We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Anza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Anza
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Cedro, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Old hotel with a great renovation. Fantastic! Great night sleep, no noise excellent (firm) bed and pillows. Fantastic location with lots of food and entertainment near. Valet parking is very convenient. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    161
    92
    53
    38
See reviews for
90
184
31
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
232 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Anza 5 nights in July.

We had great service from the staff.
Being from the East coast, we were up very early for California standards.
There was no coffee machine in the room but they gave us one when we asked.

They were very helpful.

The room was very comfortable.

The location is close enough (small 10 minute walk) to the train station, the HP Pavillon (Hockey arena) and the convention center.

Lots of restaurants close by too.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Rock_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed for one night. Unknown to me, they charged my credit card for 3 nights. Returning to my room at 1:00am, I requested a wakeup call at 5:00am to catch my 5:40am ride to SFO. In the room the phone was beeping every few minutes. Was told by the front desk I must have a message. Checking the phone system, it required a login ID. I called the front desk and they said they would clear it. 15 minutes later, and the phone still beeping, I again called the front desk. I told them to come to my room and wake me at 5:00am (now only 3-1/2 hrs away) as I was disconneting the phones. I fell asleep and was awakened at 5:40 by a hotel employee telling me my ride was here. I was rushed out without even an invoice. I am still disputing the overcharges on my crdit card with these bozos.

Room Tip: My tip for a good room? Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Well it is downtown San Jose.. Homeless panhandlers, stc.. It addition to that the rooms are unltra small. They then said I too something out of the Honors Bar, (shich I did not, and billed me. I have yet to receive credit. Add this to the $20/Night valet parking and you have a nightnare. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: The Marriott courtyard is eccellent compared to this terrible place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadWarrior58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for one night only and had a favorable impression. Arriving rather late (and that was no problem), it was good to be able to eat here despite the hour. The bed was so very comfortable and the room quiet and large. I suspect this may be a hotel used mainly by businesspeople rather than us vacationers, so perhaps it was not surprising that the hotel building did seem somewhat impersonal. Certainly it was all smart, clean and modern. The staff were most friendly, all of them, and nothing was too much trouble, whether at the front desk or at the front door or in the restaurant. The cooked breakfast was excellent. The location is good- within walking distance of the downtown area, light rail, Amtrak and so on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for four nights. Late check in went smoothly, there was no wait, the hotel is not that big, therefore, for all the days I was there I never noticed a line at the front desk. The hotel is very conveniently located in downtown San Jose, less than a 10 minute walk to the HP Pavillion, and all very accessible to public transportation. The lobby and downstairs area are all very inviting, there seems to be some kind of Moroccan theme as decor. I never had to wait more than a minute for an elevator to my room. I stayed in a room with a king bed, the bed was very comfortable, the pillows a bit too high for my taste, but this is not a big deal, since most people prefer big, high pillows anyway. This did not prevent me from sleeping.

The room was cleaned every day, beds made, chocolates left, and the bathrooms were freshened. My one complaint is that the base of the taps at the sink looked like they needed more thorough attention, they were starting to get that pale orange grime that shows me that they were not being cleaned properly. This can be wiped away really easily with some bathroom product. Besides that, everything was clean, I personally like to travel with clorox wipes so I can wipe everything down before I use them. The bathtub was clean, I did not like the location of the place to put the soap because I clumsily managed to bump my elbow into it, ouch! Towels were replaced daily, I like to bring my own towel, so I did not have to use the hotel's. Robes were also available, but I did not use them. The mini TV in the bathroom is a nice touch.

The hotel is right by the flight path of landing planes, I heard them sometimes, but this did not bother me at all, it really is not that loud to disturb anyone. If you are from a big city, San Jose may seem a bit sleepy to you, there was very little traffic noise, previous guests have complained about that, but I did not experience any of this and when I stayed it was a very busy weekend. I did not visit the hotel's restaurant, there are plenty of restaurants just minutes away in all directions including a Starbucks, just two blocks away. The air conditioning worked great, but I barely had to use it because most nights very cool enough. The flat screen TV was in good working order, no problems there. The hotel does provide hangers, as well as an iron, so do not worry to bring those. The ice and water on every floor is very convenient. I did not use the fridge or honor bar.

I have no opinion on the parking situation as I do not have a car.
There is no place to warm up food brought from outside, it would be nice to put a microwave oven on the pantry floor that guests can use.
I believe there is a fee for wired internet, therefore I did not bring my laptop, I think this should be provided with the cost of the room. Overall, I was very happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I booked this hotel a day before my stay, looking for something reasonably priced and convenient for business. I was pleasantly surprised, for $189, to find an historic hotel, recently renovated, well-appointed and excellently staffed. The front-desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Fruit, cookies, newspapers, and other goodies were offered without charge. My car was handled efficiently and without delay whenever I needed it. Everything about the room was designed for comfort, from the darkening shades to the extensive beverage bar to the amazing selection of movies available. The restaurant is top-notch. I didn't have an opportunity to have dinner there, but breakfast was excellent.

For the price, I can't imagine a better value in this city, especially if you have business to attend to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tas10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#19 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Anza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Anza

Property: Hotel De Anza
Address: 233 W Santa Clara St, San Jose, CA 95113-1710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Anza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Anza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Anza San Jose
De Anza Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing