We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basically what you'd expect from Best Western” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basically what you'd expect from Best Western”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel was clean, nice, possibly recently renovated. Basically, it's what you'd expect from a Best Western. Breakfast buffet could have used a few more hot-dish items, but generally no complaints given the great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 514Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    114
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
71
58
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good clean hotel. A little more than I usually pay, but a great deal for San Jose. A short cab ride from the airport (an airport shuttle is about the only suggestion for improvement). Room was great, good wireless service, decent breakfast selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pfeiffer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed just one night as my husband and I were attending a dinner in San Jose. Initially, when I made the reservation by phone, I was put off by the young man who answered the phone. He talked so fast I couldn't understand if I had even gotten the right place. However, when we checked in, we were greeted by a competent desk person. We had booked a junior suite. It's quite small. I guess that having a couch and coffee table makes it a suite. Nonetheless, the room was clean and we asked for one that was away from the main road so it was quiet. The rate with a AAA card was reasonable for the area. We have stayed in other Best Western Plus locations and I wouldn't rate this location as a "Plus." There is a microwave and refrigerator. Though I only had a yogurt for breakfast, it appeared that there were quite a few options such as pancakes, eggs, sausage, cereal, juice, coffee, fruit (though not much by the time I got down to the breakfast area). If you are just planning to stay a couple of nights and don't need "frills," this place will suffice.

Room Tip: Ask for a second level room and away from Tully Road. There is an elevator so you don't have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the second time I been to this hotel and I decided to get the suite. Its overall a much much bigger room. Has a king size bed, a large walk in shower and a large sofa (not pull out). Only bad part is that its on the street side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelR408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first room on the top floor was neat, clean and refurbished. The problem is that this hotel is being refurbished and the contractors must have left something on the roof that wasn't bolted down. Had a bit of a windstorm for a few hours just after midnight and for the next three hours there was continuous loud banging. There were lots of cranky guests at breakfast the next morning. One couple said they had called the front desk in the middle of the night and were given an apology but no fix. The staff know how to apologize but doesn't seem to be able to problem solve or know what to do when there is a problem. Since we were going to be there another night, we asked to have our room changed. Bad idea. The new room had some problems. The mattress had seen far too many guests. The toilet did not flush. When we reported the poor performing plumbing early the next morning the desk clerk said she was sorry and would report it. Since there is no restroom in the public areas, we really didn't want to wait until someone would get around to fixing it. My husband asked for a toilet plunger and fixed it himself.The continental breakfast compared to similar priced hotels is lacking. No low-fat yogurt. No fruit other than apples. Instant oatmeal. Unpeeled, hard-boiled eggs. Waffles. If you like jam you have your choice of grape or apple jelly. There's a reason those flavors are cheap. They have no flavor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuwildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I reserved a king suite with a whirlpool bath on the Best Western website. I found the room only had a shower. When I told the clerk I was given the wrong room, I was told the website had not been updated and there are only showers now.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#16 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Fairmont San Jose
The Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Address: 2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-1140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming San Jose, California hotels, the Best Western Airport Plus Plaza delivers old-world charm, modern style and a central location right near the San Jose Airport and San Jose Convention Center. We offer our guests complimentary parking (one car per room per night), complimentary Wi-Fi and a complimentary full hot breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - San Jose Airport Plaza Hotel San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing