We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    114
    34
    10
    3
See reviews for
71
58
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is a very good value for a stay in the San Jose/Santa Clara area. The entire hotel has been recently renovated and now sets the standard for updated comfort at a budget price. Minor complaint is that like other hotels in this class the window heating/AC unit can be a bit noisy.

The staff is professional and honest, the maid found and manager returned several clothing items I mistakenly left behind. Location is very conveniet to Santa Clara University, downtown San Jose, and the airport. Note that this Best Western is pet free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stay at this hotel frequently. Our newly renovated room was less comfortable than before. Neither the desk chair nor the lounge chair was comfortable, and the decorative colors and paintings are not attractive. Nice shutters on the window!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BARBARA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My stay was very comfortable and the location was good. Close to airport and close to the location I was in town for. Rooms were remodeled and clean. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. There was remodeling construction being done on the first floor during my stay but the schedule the construction crew worked was very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed the night of 12/5/12 at the property. The room has been totally renovated and it is clean, in good taste, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player. Small size but with all the necessary amenities. Continental breakfast is basic but not bad. The renovation noise from the floor below was not ofensive and we were advised in advance. We will return to this property and will recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This Best Western recently underwent a face lift and it was well worth it. The room was large, well appointed, and the bed was super comfortable. I love the little touches like the marble counter tops, the crown molding, and the tile floor entrance to our room. The closet was huge! The internet was plenty fast and the customer service was top notch. The only complaint I have is that the televisions were programed to only be turned up to 30 and for two adults who are not hard of hearing, it was too low. The clerk was not able to turn them up. And, it seems that the hot water is set for a certain temperature that is comfortable but won't get very hot. I realize that's a safety thing, but I would have liked a slightly warmer shower. Those two things won't stop me from staying there in the future, but I sure would like them to address those two issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at the BW Airport Plaza Hotel during their construction phase. The second floor appeared to be about 85% done. They still had signs that needed to be attached to the doors and the stairwell was probably going to be last on the list due to it being subject to traffic from the first floor which was very much under construction.
However, despite the questionable exterior, my room was beautiful. The room was done in warm chocolately browns and other earth tones. It offered the basic amenities--king size bed, desk, sitting ottoman, and well done bathroom--but the bed was SO comfortable and the colors were absolutely inviting.
They also offered breakfast in the morning. You get to choose from various cereals, yogurt, a couple different coffees and other beverages. They also had one of those belgian waffle flip irons--that was my breakfast. :)
The hotel is super easy to get to and is located on one of the "main drags" of San Jose--The Alameda. That street becomes Santa Clara as you get further east but it's the same road that the convention center is on. I-880 is very accessible to the hotel and Hwy 101 isn't too far of a drive. I loved driving that main road at 7 in the morning when there was very little traffic. It gave me a chance to see what was along the road without impeding traffic.
The only "con" that I encountered--you can hear road noise from the room. I was at the very end of the building and could hear even the "ding dong" of the crosswalk signal. On a side note, there is no workout room. Other than that, I recommend this hotel for short stays in San Jose.

Room Tip: Pick one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nichole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#16 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Address: 2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-1140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming San Jose, California hotels, the Best Western Airport Plus Plaza delivers old-world charm, modern style and a central location right near the San Jose Airport and San Jose Convention Center. We offer our guests complimentary parking (one car per room per night), complimentary Wi-Fi and a complimentary full hot breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - San Jose Airport Plaza Hotel San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing