We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Could not sleep"”
Review of Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Could not sleep"”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Ramada San Jose could be a choice to the more pricey hotels closer to the Convention Center. Maybe better call it a motel rather than a hotel. Has free internet, free parking, room rates are better than other hotels around and is walking distance close to the University, fast foods etc, restaurants etc. City has done great efforts to revitalize this historical district but some spots of the area are somewhat dilapidated due to the economic crisis..vacant buildings for commercial use etc..

Rooms are small but clean. Structure is old and if you are in the first level you can hear the cracks of the wodden floor when people walk on top of your room. We stayed 3 nights for a conference at the Convention Center. Friday night and Saturday night we could not sleep well. Apparently, the Ramada is the place of chossing for young couples to stay for all kind of noisy activities during the weekend ( and I mean all kind of activities). In our case, the young couple on top of us, that was obviously so happy and intimate on Friday night and morning (till 3AM), had strong differences on early Sunday morning. The guy left the place at 3:15AM while she was screaming on him and telling him all kind of things in the middle of the parking while we were wondering in our room about our security.

When we checked out we informed to the young clerk at the front desk about this situation and he apologized...We checked with other people of our group, in other rooms far from ours and they did not hear anything.

Apparently, this operation under the name Ramada, has decided to position themselves to cater to this type of market more towards the young segment or simply the market and the location makes this motel the place for these types of clients we had above us for 2 nights. During these incidents we did not perceive, during the evenings, a presence that inspired security in the area. We basically saw the front desk clerk and that´s it. Maybe there was some additional security but again we are talking about perception, and in marketing, perception is critical.

As a couple in our fifties we definitely would not recommend Ramada San Jose. Maybe in a quiet night, Ramada is a good place to stay for some quick business at the University, but having the posibility, as it happened to us, of such an experience, definitely is not worth the chance.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, go to a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscarcor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    107
    115
    59
    28
See reviews for
69
31
41
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed here because I was attending a conference at the convention center. I was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews here but my experience was wonderful. The hotel has free parking and the convention center is only a couple of blocks away, maybe a 5 minute walk, if that. The room rate was reasonable and about half the price of the "conference hotels." The neighborhood was interesting with lots of artsy cafes, clubs and restaurants. As a woman travelling alone, I felt quite safe. Granted, the room was small; I wouldn't come here for a romantic getaway but for a business traveler it was fine. A free breakfast was available with enough choices to be healthy -yogurt, fruit, bagels, cereal, hb eggs, etc.
The room was quiet and the staff, especially Alex, was extremely helpful and nice. All told, I had a very good experience here and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for a conference and found the hotel decent. Rooms are small but usable. AC is a wall unit and quite loud, which was nice with the noise of the area. The small fridge was nice to have in the room. Overall the cleanliness of the room left a bit lacking, but more of long term water stains and not dust or dirt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

long beach, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

While the Ramada San Jose is very reasonably priced, it is also kind of run down and crummy. The rooms are tiny and run down. The breakfast was OK, especially for the price. There is not a lot within walking distance. We had a deposition held there, and I was surprised to see that they had the facilities to do this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lksmugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

1st the night guy at the front desk gave us keys to 2 different rooms, we only realized this when someone was trying to open our room! He had also given another guest our room. 2nd, the beds are terrible! hard as a rock! felt more like a cheap little motel than a Ramada. 3rd they don't have enough parking spots! we had to park blocks away AND there are mostly NO PARKING from 3am-6am signs all around the stupid hotel. I was afraid of waking up to my car being towed... Next time I will perfer to pay $20 more for a better place.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penguinlove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon via Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The pictures show a pool.....without green floaties. And the pictures show a 'fitness center' with several types of equipment. The reality is tragic....half of the equipment doesn't exist and what is there is old and broken down. The noise levels also make getting a decent night's sleep only possible between the hours of 1 am and 6 am.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank AKDogartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My sister and I stayed at this hotel while on a trip to see the Dalai Lama speak at the university and Convention Center. It's an average hotel when it comes to amenities and decor, but it is in a great location (about 5-10 minute walk to the university and 5 minute walk to the Convention Center). The price of the room was decent at about $70/night and the room was clean. Overall, this is a good value hotel if you don't care about the decor and fancy amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
3.0 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#27 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#34 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Motor Inn

Property: Pacific Motor Inn
Address: 455 S 2nd St, San Jose, CA 95113-2710 (Formerly Ramada San Jose Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing