We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of crummy, but decent value for price”
Review of Pacific Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Motor Inn
Ranked #32 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed June 14, 2011

While the Ramada San Jose is very reasonably priced, it is also kind of run down and crummy. The rooms are tiny and run down. The breakfast was OK, especially for the price. There is not a lot within walking distance. We had a deposition held there, and I was surprised to see that they had the facilities to do this.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lksmugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 380 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

1st the night guy at the front desk gave us keys to 2 different rooms, we only realized this when someone was trying to open our room! He had also given another guest our room. 2nd, the beds are terrible! hard as a rock! felt more like a cheap little motel than a Ramada. 3rd they don't have enough parking spots! we had to park blocks away AND there are mostly NO PARKING from 3am-6am signs all around the stupid hotel. I was afraid of waking up to my car being towed... Next time I will perfer to pay $20 more for a better place.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguinlove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The pictures show a pool.....without green floaties. And the pictures show a 'fitness center' with several types of equipment. The reality is tragic....half of the equipment doesn't exist and what is there is old and broken down. The noise levels also make getting a decent night's sleep only possible between the hours of 1 am and 6 am.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank AKDogartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My sister and I stayed at this hotel while on a trip to see the Dalai Lama speak at the university and Convention Center. It's an average hotel when it comes to amenities and decor, but it is in a great location (about 5-10 minute walk to the university and 5 minute walk to the Convention Center). The price of the room was decent at about $70/night and the room was clean. Overall, this is a good value hotel if you don't care about the decor and fancy amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katskills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Good location as it is in real San Jose Down Town, which doesn't exsqit so much in this area. But that's the only quality.
Rooms aere very small, noisy, the air conditionned device is old style with bad adjustment, very noisy, morning breakfeast is OK for a cuo if cofee, but no more.
That's a not expensive Motel, but it doesn't value more.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gouroudesmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night that was enough. Smelly room dog poop? The room was quite large though. In a pinch it was OK the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WebbFamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed here due to the reasonable price (much less expensive than hotels in San Francisco), but this hotel's main asset is its location. Although not the best part of town, it has free parking and it's within walking distance of the art museum, reasonable restaurants, and a beautiful historical church.

The hotel has decent amenities. The business computer and fitness equipment worked (although the eliptical was quite loud) and the free breakfast was fine. The room, however, was old and fairly shabby. No tub in the bathroom, just a shower, and its hardware wasn't in the best shape. Nowhere to keep your toiletries inside and the knobs didn't easy adjust.

These are pretty minor quibbles, but my main concern is that a few days after I returned from my stay, I developed a red rash and severe itching all over my hands and toes, and was diagnosed with scabies. I have no idea where else I would have gotten this, since I don't travel often and my family members and I have never had scabies before. I have e-mailed the hotel about my concerns, and hopefully it will act on them.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
4  Thank WDCLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#53 of 75 in San Jose
118 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
3.1 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#38 of 75 in San Jose
383 reviews
2.7 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#50 of 75 in San Jose
69 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- San Jose Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Motor Inn

Address: 455 S 2nd St, San Jose, CA 95113-2710 (Formerly Ramada San Jose Downtown)
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $109 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pacific Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing