We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the seafood”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #26 of 2,169 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opened in 1997 our fourth Northern California restaurant and sixth overall, this stunning restaurant features all the traditional hallmarks of a classic Fish Market restaurant: a full-service oyster bar, comfortable cocktail bar and lounge area, sushi bar, expansive retail market, spacious dining areas, exhibition mesquite broilers, and a private dining room for large parties. Call for reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the seafood”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great, open restaurant, and I like the fish market feel in the front. Staff was friendly and thoroughly explained the menu and specials to us. The calamari app was delicious, and the menu had so much it was had to decide on what to order.GREAT food, got the King Salmon, that was money. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sgterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good portions and Great Taste”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

"The Fish Market" offers simple fish and seafood dishes that are very delicious and plentiful. Good portions and great taste. A bit pricey, but the fish is fresh and the selection wide. You can find "corvina" from Panama as well as Alaskan Halibut. Warm and delicious sourdough bread brought to your table to start things. Small but tasty selection of desserts. I recommend the "warm apple crisp a la mode" which can satisfy at least two people. Make sure you make reservations on holidays and weekends as it can get pretty full very fast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, fresh food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stopped in at The Fish Market in San Jose after a busy day running errands. We were seated next to the fireplace on this cold, rainy day. Sourdough bread was brought to our table. It was perfectly crusty on the outside and soft and fresh on the inside. Our food was fresh, simple and delicious! I had a salad with prawns and mango, which was outstanding. The wait staff was professional but not overly attentive. It took a very long time to have our change returned to us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santacruzin2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Another old standby for seafood. Food is fresh and tasty. Great sourdough french bread. Always a pleasant experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eldon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy favorite but worth the wait”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Plain and simple, a great seafood restaurant! Good service and friendly personnel. Always busy on the weekends but the bar offers a great place to wait. Call ahead to get on the wait list.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwksj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing