We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good seafood”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #23 of 2,169 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opened in 1997 our fourth Northern California restaurant and sixth overall, this stunning restaurant features all the traditional hallmarks of a classic Fish Market restaurant: a full-service oyster bar, comfortable cocktail bar and lounge area, sushi bar, expansive retail market, spacious dining areas, exhibition mesquite broilers, and a private dining room for large parties. Call for reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistently good seafood”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Been here a couple dozen times. The Fish Market delivers consistently fresh, high-quality seafood at reasonable prices. Favorites of mine include the Manhattan (red) clam chowder, the smoked fish sampler appetizer (yum) and the mixed grill skewer. The service is usually really good, and the sourdough bread they serve is amazing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cac258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved dinner”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We went here for the first time with my 1 1/2 year old. I had the swordfish tacos and they were amazing! The portion size was perfect and were priced fairly. My daughter shared my black beans and lived them. My mom had the shrimp salad which I tasted and it was phenomenal! My sister had the swordfish and lived it. Price on the swordfish was a little high but they bring it in fresh so I know it costs them more. Had spicey tuna rolls for one app and they were good. Also had crab dip which was fantastic. Very fresh ingredients!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love The Fish Market”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Love love love this place. A small local chain. High quality. Especially enjoy all of the seafood dishes that they grill over charcoal - and there is a big window into the kitchen area where you can watch the chefs working the two big charcoal grills. Very accommodating to dietary needs, always friendly service. No matter how packed the place is they are fast getting the food to the table. We eat here about once a month - and will continue going back both for dinner or with friends and work crowd for lunch.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great meal at a fair price.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

You simply can't do better in the area if you like fresh seafood, cooked the way you like it with great service at a fair price. While they have standards on the menu, such as chowder, etc. the main part of the menu changes every day depending on the catch. Their clam strips, louis's and Oysters Rockefeller are outstanding. I have never eaten better clam strips and this is the only Oysters Rockefeller preparation my wife will now eat. They also have some of the best sour dough bread (included) I have eaten. Service and atmosphere is excellent. The kitchen is visible behind glass so diners can see their food being prepared. They also sell fresh fish but at premium prices. I have never gotten a bad meal at any of their locations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GymAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A local chain, a little pricier, but fine”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Sea-food. I can't remember the one dish in sea food places I like which the FM doesn't carrying. Maybe it will come to me. It's basically mostly fresh, and it's an institution: I've eaten at the ones in Palo Alto, Foster City, Santa Clara, San Jose. You will do OK here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank eugenemiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing