We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Fish Market”
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #22 of 2,163 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in 1997 our fourth Northern California restaurant and sixth overall, this stunning restaurant features all the traditional hallmarks of a classic Fish Market restaurant: a full-service oyster bar, comfortable cocktail bar and lounge area, sushi bar, expansive retail market, spacious dining areas, exhibition mesquite broilers, and a private dining room for large parties. Call for reservations
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love The Fish Market”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Love love love this place. A small local chain. High quality. Especially enjoy all of the seafood dishes that they grill over charcoal - and there is a big window into the kitchen area where you can watch the chefs working the two big charcoal grills. Very accommodating to dietary needs, always friendly service. No matter how packed the place is they are fast getting the food to the table. We eat here about once a month - and will continue going back both for dinner or with friends and work crowd for lunch.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    49
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A great meal at a fair price.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

You simply can't do better in the area if you like fresh seafood, cooked the way you like it with great service at a fair price. While they have standards on the menu, such as chowder, etc. the main part of the menu changes every day depending on the catch. Their clam strips, louis's and Oysters Rockefeller are outstanding. I have never eaten better clam strips and this is the only Oysters Rockefeller preparation my wife will now eat. They also have some of the best sour dough bread (included) I have eaten. Service and atmosphere is excellent. The kitchen is visible behind glass so diners can see their food being prepared. They also sell fresh fish but at premium prices. I have never gotten a bad meal at any of their locations.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GymAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A local chain, a little pricier, but fine”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Sea-food. I can't remember the one dish in sea food places I like which the FM doesn't carrying. Maybe it will come to me. It's basically mostly fresh, and it's an institution: I've eaten at the ones in Palo Alto, Foster City, Santa Clara, San Jose. You will do OK here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank eugenemiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voghera, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good seafood, reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well, I love crab cioppino and when I cannot go up to San Francisco, I love to go here. I love the environment, like a seafood shop, I love the fact that you see the cook while they cook, and I love the food of course.
The price is reasonable.
The neighborhood unfortunately is average.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarloCanevari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A MUST IF YOU LOVE SEAFOOD AND FISH!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Selection to choose from will overwhelm you and everything is great! Service and staff could not be better. Convenient location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zippo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing