We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome game, eat first unless you want junk food”
Review of SAP Center

SAP Center
Ranked #5 of 136 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome game, eat first unless you want junk food”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Had top row seats (attended alumni function) with buffet dinner included. Nothing to fill me up. Went outside to vendors and purhcased my own food, again, ok. Mostly junk food and beer/wine/mixed drinks. Very expensive! But worth watching the Sharks game!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank kp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    180
    64
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very spacious. Had Been for a concert of Taylor Swift. Very comfortable seating. the ambiance was very good.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank pallavik12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Always a great place to go.”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I love going to the HP Pavillion. I have seen many different events, and I have enjoyed every one. Mostly I have seen Shark games here, and they are a blast. there really isn't a bad seat in the house, but remember that you get what you pay for. Parking is average compared to other pr sporting events, and the food is prety good as well. The club has a great selection and a nice bar to get drinks between periods.
I have seen some concerts here as well, and they have been great as well. The security for these are rented, so I will not hold the pavillion responsible for rentted untrained "event staff." Overall there is a great feeling, and it is in a safe area of town if you park offsite.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank weluvtotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sharks Game! Great venue and staff.”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We enjoyed a Sharks game. I particularly wanted to acknowledge the ushers and staff who work at the Pavilion. Anytime someone got in the way of others seeing the action on the ice, whether they were standing in aisle or at their seats, the ushers very politely asked them to sit down or step back. The number of staff was impressive compared to other sporting and concert events we have attended. They really helped us enjoy the event even more. I think their presence actions help avoid problems among serious hockey fans without stifling any fun. Thank you!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CACDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Easy To Get To From San Francisco...”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Saw a Sharks/Oilers game in February of 2009.. The Pavilion (Shark Tank) is right beside a CalTrain station which makes the arena very accessible when arriving from San Francisco.

The arena is much older than most of the NHL rinks I usually see games at every year, Buffalo, Toronto & Ottawa. Wouldn't recommend sitting in the first 10 rows of the upper bowl because the railing along the rim of the upper bowl slightly obstructs the side of the rink closest to you. The obstruction really makes it obvious that the building wasn't originally intended to house an NHL team. Overall, the atmosphere was good. The crowd felt somewhat like a junior, OHL game, in some aspects as parts of the crowd had their own unique organized cheers. There were also some fans that cheered offsides that went against the opposing team, lol.

Helpful?
Thank Pete905416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAP Center also viewed

 

Been to SAP Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing