We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pasta and dessert”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 2,173 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: San Carlos St.
Transit: City bus stops are located nearby
Description: Il Fornaio means "The Baker" in Italian. This award-winning restaurant offers an authentic and unique dining experience. Specialties include wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; housemade pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and housemade soups; a wide variety of desserts; and fresh baked bread made daily from scratch. Winner of the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2013.
Los Altos, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great pasta and dessert”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had pasta for dinner and it was actually great. The atmosphere here is very comfortable, so it is a good place to meet friends if you are in downtown San Jose. The dessert is also quite good, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank y2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    145
    67
    36
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice night out for wife and I”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This Restuarant is in the St Clair hotel downtown San Jose.nice place with lots of charm. Our food was good. My wife had some toothpicks in chicken dish but the staff were very understanding and all was resolved. We have a good time sitting by a window doing some people watching.

Helpful?
Thank cstout1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food is very good and the service for years has been consistently bad. We just don't go there anymore. Try Original Joes just down the street in San Jose.

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food couldn't have been better”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We hosted a wedding dinner and I was so pleased with the service, generosity, and professionalism of the staff in making our daughter's wedding PERFECT. The food was AWESOME. Sean was our waiter who had a special room for us with candles lit when we arrived, appetizers came out IMMEDIATELY (even though we were late because of traffic) and were beautiful and delicious. Food quality just can't be described except luscious, you just have to experience it. I'm Italian and the bread was to die for and the lemon olive oil dressing/arugula/beef, antipasto and every entree we experienced was out of this world. The next morning we had a very pleasant breakfast together, portions large and tasty and again, wait staff excellent. The many windows looking out into the city added to a very nice atmosphere. Thank you Il Forniao for making the wedding such a wonderful experience. Thanks especially to Raul, who helped us plan the dinner and to Sean who waited on us. No arrivederci here! Wish I didn't live in Washington State, or I eat here every weekend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After 10 years of visiting this spot, Il Fornaio in the Sainte Claire hotel continues to excel with terrific Italian food on its lunch & dinner menus, and fabulous breakfast as the hotel restaurant in the morning. So many "Italian" restaurants in America have fallen into a generic rut, but Il Fornaio always has an extra trick up its sleeve - a seasonal, or regional special menu to add to its staples, and a kitchen staff that can turn it out authentically, plus a well-rounded wine list that reflects the best of California as well as a range of Italian & other new world wines at reasonable prices. The room itself - an airy and bright ambience - lends one more element of satisfaction to this dining experience, and one could search far and wide to beat its honesty as a very decent Italian restaurant in a town rich in choice for eateries; few would match it for value & excellence, however.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing