We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, unusual doughnuts!”
Review of Psycho Donuts

Psycho Donuts
Ranked #3 of 54 Bakeries in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: We are the the Silicon Valley's original gourmet donut asylum! Come experience the taste sensation that has been infecting the minds of the bay area's most adventurous donut lovers since 2009!
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty good, unusual doughnuts!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is part of the new movement of unusual doughnuts - I had the strawberry taco-nut, a sugar glazed doughnut split like a tortilla to accommodate a heap of strawberries and whipped cream. The line wasn't terribly long on a Sunday and the service was adequate. This shop is attached to a theater that shows Rocky Horror and classic horror flicks. Parking was metered and required change - watch out for that! Doughnuts are doughnuts, but this place has great fun with their presentation.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spooncherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pass...”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were disappointed... What went wrong? Everything. Service was poor, donuts were NOT up to par - everything overly sugared, all tasted the same. Despite ordering 4 different items from the menu, if we closed our eyes, we couldn't tell which was which. It all just tasted like fryer oil + sugar.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yummy donuts!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Great selection lots of fun flavors and choices. Fun atmosphere too! It also serves as the concession stand for the movie theater. Their Rice Krispie treat donut is awesome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travel_work_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wacky Donuts, But This Is Your Same Old Dunkin' Chain!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Yes, it totally fun!

If large donuts with waay too much on them, that look like they were lovingly crafted by small children run a muck in a commercial kitchen isn't you thing, then find a franchised donut store.

Continuing the theme you'll be reminded that you are in a psych ward by the appropriately dressed "nurses"!

While you're chomping on your selected sugar fix, don't be shy about trying on the wigs and hats. I just assumed they were for sharing.... but you never know, and I'm not telling.

I can also recommend the donut with bacon on it. Bacon goes with everything. Oh, Canada, eh?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy-wacky”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good donuts with a flair for fun. They make good classic donuts, but they experiment with the toppings which make it a fun adventure to try each new kind. My favorite is the one with rice krispies on it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank iwobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Psycho Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Psycho Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing