We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Join the locals for lunch”
Review of Bill's Cafe

Bill's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2,169 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Join the locals for lunch”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

While running errands in San Jose, we realized it was 1 pm,
time for lunch, but we were visitors driving from Alviso to San Jose.
There are lots of little cafes along the road, but we saw Bill's Cafe,
and there were still cars and folks sitting at outside table.

It was a great choice. They have a soup and salad special every day for lunch.
The big bowl of soup was fresh and very tasty. The large salad was also special, with
fruit and nuts. And it was a great value, quite reasonably priced.

We'll be going back to Bill's next time we visit family
in the Bay Area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chemtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    124
    48
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside County
Level Contributor
240 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Food and Prices to Match”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a local hangout and very popular for breakfast on the weekends. I was taken there for Father''s Day. We got there a little after 7:30 am and were seated within a few minutes. By the time we left at 9 or so, there were at least 100 people outside waiting.

The service was very good and our server was friendly and attentive.

The breakfast food is very good. We had a variety of dishes. The breakfast menu is very large. I had the meat lover's omelet and it had plenty of meat and cheese in it and it was large. I had country potatoes on the side and they were very good. It was better than the quality that you would get at Denny's but much more food.

I don't live in the area, but if I did I would visit it on a regular basis. It is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Favorite brunch spot!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Bill's is a San Jose tradition. There are 3 locations (if I'm not mistaken) and all of them have very long lines each weekend. You can call ahead to reserve your place in line and as long as you get to the restaurant within the wait time, you should have no problems being seated soon. The mimosas are huge and delicious. The portions are huge and service is very quick. Try one of the benedicts or skillets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirstenkrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A local hangout”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The place always has long lines on the weekends. I think this is a local favorite. But from food perspective, just ok. I prefer other cafés in the downtown area.

Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Brunch”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I tried the newly opened Bill's Café on Kooser after previously eaten at the Bill's Cafe in Willow Glen. We had Easter brunch there. We called 45 minutes ahead and had no trouble being seated right away. The menu and the food is the same at all their locations. My wife had the portobello mushroom benedict and I had the eggs benedict. Both of our meals were excellent. I highly recommend this place. The food and service here is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bill's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing