We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and heavy breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bill's Cafe

Bill's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2,152 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and heavy breakfast”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

It is great and heavy breakfast. We had to wait 35min to go inside. The Manu has alot of options for breakfast. I like and it is the best the French toast. The others are great too. The soup lemon/chicken is nice too. The one order is huge for one so ask to reduce to have serveral kinds. The small bar has nice drinks it cost $50 for 4 ppl. The kids meals are nice too with alot of side options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    122
    45
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
367 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Hearty Breakfast”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast in american way: big plates well filled, assorted eggs, hams, sausages, a protein scramble with aspargus, panncake instead of toast if wanted. The Croissant was not like the French would expect it.. it was fried flat like a french toast - try it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I arrived at Bill's Café on Wednesday and have to say service, wait times and seating was excellent. I was surprised because when I arrived I took the last parking spot available.

Service was with a smile, quick to ask for coffee and a drink, and the menu was given with some polite suggestions. I ordered the Crab cakes benedict. I'd give it a 4 out of 5 stars on the dish. The crab cakes looked like a good pre-made one which was bread crumbed (quality was ok - but lost the marks on opportunity to make your own and impress), the eggs, sauce and muffin were out of this world. The hash browns were a little crispy (maybe a little over done) however, they tasted good.

The Café was a little loud, but it was full to the brim by the time I left.

I definitely see why it came highly recommended on tripadvisor. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XathrasManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Soo good yet soo bad”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Service , food were great but it's always so damn crowded. Place needs a dinning room make over. The owners must not want to get more customers cause there is no room for large party's

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itwasmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average breakfast food; don't like atmosphere”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Average breakfast food--not bad, just not great. I don't like the outdoor patio--too crowded and always seems a little dirty to me. Inside, it's still 1985 (and I never much liked that decor.) For "standard" American breakfast brunch food, walk up Lincoln and go to John's instead, another long-time neighborhood institution. It is much cleaner, has good pancakes, omelettes, etc., a nice, though smaller outdoor patio, better service, imo, and the decor, while not winning any modern design awards, was updated a couple of years ago and is..well...way better than Bill's. Maybe 1998 pseudo-Greek restuarant? It is a Greek family who runs it, and you can get breakfast till late, but some of the Greek specialties are really good--actually as good as Opa's down the street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelmomSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bill's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing