We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Wine Bar, Good Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vino Vino

Vino Vino
Ranked #509 of 2,156 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: St. John Street
Davis, California
Level Contributor
285 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Unique Wine Bar, Good Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Small wine bar & restaurant on the outer edge of San Pedro Market Square with indoor and outdoor seating. Interesting, unique, and flavorful wines on tap by flights or by the glass, with wine glasses all at the same price. Don't be turned off by the idea of tap wines! They were ALL surprisingly good during our flight tastings. They also feature over 30 wines in the bottle from local Santa Cruz Mountain and Santa Clara Valley Wineries, along with half a dozen local beers.
My friend & I enjoyed a delicious and plentiful Cheese Plate as a starter (great assortment of cheeses, try the Perfetto Pecorino!). My Smoked Salmon panini with side salad was very good and the blue cheese & walnut dinner salad got great reviews from my friend.
Excellent service, fun, inviting, casual & communal atmosphere. Highly recommend when in San Jose.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hollisJ_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

In the San Pedro Market this little hole in the wall restaurant served a delicious salad and a very nice wine at a very good price. The decor isn't attractive inside, very rustic, but you can sit outside. I had the ahi tuna salad with wasabi vinaigrette and a Chardonnay. Service was attentive. Tables are close together, but it's a small place. Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Redee2GoGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine bar - take a bottle to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We love getting wine from here. We usually buy a bottle and go sit outside in the open seating area of San Pedro Square market. They give you $10 off the bottle if you sit outside of their small area so you might as well. The bar tenders and wait staff are very helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect first date place in San Pedro Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have someone new to take out, then you can do a lot worse than Vino Vino. It's located in San Pedro Square. The waitresses are helpful and the wine is excellent and not overly expensive. Actually, it's much more reasonably priced wine than Wine Affairs on The Alameda and every wine bar in Palo Alto.

It's nice for a date because it's not overly loud, yet has a lively atmosphere rather than a romantic one. You know, it helps conversation flow rather than adding pressure.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OCRafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
416 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Pleasant Service, Good Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Good place to meet friends before a Sharks game. High tables with stools characterize this wine bar in a relatively quiet corner of San Pedro Market.

We ordered a cheese plate and a charcuterie plate plus a bottle of reasonably priced California wine. The cheese plate was the more interesting of the two but the portion sizes were rather small.

Service was friendly and they kindly allowed us to bring in a couple of hamburgers from a stall in the market and enjoy them with our wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Vino also viewed

 

Been to Vino Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing