We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citrus Restaurant - CLOSED

Citrus Restaurant
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Located inside Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Description: Enjoy fine dining in San Jose in a modern setting. Sheer curtains, Venetian plants, warm walls, and terracotta ceilings create an engaging and versatile environment -- perfect for your next romantic evening, group gathering, or business dinner. Our menu, consisting of classics with a creative twist, is sure to have something to please every palate. Hearty steaks, fresh seafood, and flavorful vegetarian plates are among our specialties. Dine in the open-air, European-style courtyard near the fountain for an especially memorable experience. *Citrus offers complimentary valet parking six days a week, Monday through Saturday.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Had the privilege of being entertained by a lovely group of people who live and work near to San Jose; generously they took a group of us out for an evening meal. Unfortunately, Citrus badly let them down.

The wait we had for the starter was enormous - although several bottles of wine were ordered during this time, no apology nor offer of goodwill was made. Eventually, and only after complaining was a half-hearted apology given.

I chose a $15 starter which proved to be inedible, so I left most of it (the bison). There were similar experiences from others in our party.

The main course was better for several of the guests, however - after being asked how I would like my steak cooked, I opted for medium (my preference for lower quality cuts), the meat that turned up was somewhere between blue and rare.

The generosity of our hosts for the week was sadly not complemented by this most overpriced of restaurants. A very poor experience; if I return to this area of California, I certainly will be making other dining arrangements.

The location on Santana Row is lovely - just avoid Citrus!

Helpful?
1 Thank N0rthY0rks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden from view but still going strong on Santana Row”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Citrus is one of our go-to restaurants on the row in part because we can always get in as it's a bit out of sight and thus out of mind for the casual santana row crowd. We try to get back here at least once a month and enjoy the consistenly good service and food. I'm in a bit of a rut at Citrus ordering their sweet gem lettuce salad and a glass of pinot and calling it dinner but my wife is usually less consistent and orders more broadly - primarily seafood dishes.

The restaurant is a bit dark (at dinner) which can be great for a romantic evening or present a challenge if your eyes are old like mine are. Anyway, we continue to enjoy the food, wine and the service as Citrus has always treated us well. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Flexing your Mussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

While in San Jose recently during a business trip, I took a stroll down to Santana Row. Lots to choose from for restaurants, yet I decided on Citrus, located inside the Valencia Hotel. I am so glad I did! Their "Thai Coconut Mussels" was worth the entire evening. Succulent, rich, flavorful - what's not to love? A generous portion for an appetizer, too. Their other items were fine but didn't thrill me (3 onion soup was too salty, the chanterelle mushroom tart too large had competing flavors). Go for a glass of wine and the mussels. They will knock your socks off!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MTjernlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Citrus Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your dinner (mussels!) in Citrus. We are so happy you enjoyed them.

We hope you will enjoy them again on your next visit to San Jose.

Cordially, Bonnie Best
General Manager, Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Breakfast was included with our stay at Hotel Valencia, so we were pleasantly surprised with the food. The breakfast buffet has a wide selection of choices (oatmeal, yogurt, cereal, scones, donuts, several types of toast, hot entrees, fresh cut fruit, etc) which changed daily. Everything was promptly refilled and fresh. The decor is nice and the place was very clean. We definitely looked forward to heading down for breakfast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RenaeInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Citrus Restaurant, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our complimentary continental breakfast buffet. We appreciate the feedback.

We hope to see you back at Hotel Valencia soon.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager, Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our hidden gem with a new chef and a new mission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We've been dining at Citrus in the hotel Valencia since it opened and a few months back things began to change. It all started with the arrival of their new chef and a management team intent on delighting diners and building their reputation for a great experience. It's a bit of a hidden gem as it's not at street level in Santana Row so you're more likely to walk past it as you are to take the elevator to the 3rd floor, walk to the back of the hotel, turn right at the courtyard and then enter the restaurant. But, if you do..... you'll have a great dining experience.

Don't forget to try the soup de jour. Fantastic!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing