We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Restaurant with good food and service”
Review of Vegetarian House

Vegetarian House
Ranked #55 of 2,185 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,668 reviews
1,684 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,814 helpful votes
“Pleasant Restaurant with good food and service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a very good vegetarian restaurant in San Jose - so yummy. They have a broad range of things to order - tasty appetizers with a beautiful presentation such as their avocado tower. Their main dishes are deliscious - some look like "meat" such as shrimp but are vegetarian. They have chocolate coconut ice cream and other things for dessert.
Prices are moderate.
Free parking by the restaurant.
Located close to downtown San Jose City Hall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    18
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love this place. The food is exceptionally good and every one is always cheerful and friendly. The Papaya salad is a favorite, but if you like spinach, you must try their spinach salad... or the quinoa/sushi appetizer... the curries are outstanding! My favorite is the Guru Curry.. and if you are hesitant about eating food that only looks like vegetables, this place will fool your taste buds! Check out the Cha-Cha... looks like shrimp, tastes like shrimp, but is made of potato flour. You can go wrong with any of their choices!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sejs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very creative and delicious vegan food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I go to a lot of vegan restaurants, and usually the faux meat places are "just okay". But Vegetarian House is different. There are many many dishes that are not faux meat, but rather real plant food prepared in interesting ways. I was there with two meat eaters and they both were very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful taste of the food, and so was I.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rawzins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I went with my dad, he was very skeptical at first (because he is a meat eater). When we walked in the atmosphere was so calm and soothing. We ordered pho, chow mein, and a curry tofu dish. He wasn't sure what to expect because he didn't know what half the items were on the menu. But it was amazing, the service, atmosphere, and food. He said "if I had food like this all the time I would be able to be vegan", approved by a meat eater! So do not be scared if you are going as a meat eater.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameowtha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“meh food, meh service -- better choices elsewhere in town”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The service was very slow, and they got our (very simple) drink orders wrong.

The food was OK, though a lot more rice than anything else. Flavor was good though.

I won't bother coming back, there are better/more interesting places to go in town. Not to mention, this place had a kind of weird cult thing going on I didn't quite understand...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thebeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegetarian House also viewed

 

Been to Vegetarian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing