We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not jerking around!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back A Yard

Back A Yard
Ranked #88 of 2,143 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not jerking around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Oh wow, there's a full house. These were the words I uttered as I peered into the window while walking to the door. The 3-4 block walk from the hotel to Back A Yard was my first adventure in San Jose after leaving the airport and I was not disappointed. My to-go order was 2 meals in 1, food and service was great. The lady serving those dining in suggested I call in my order rather than having to wait.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redvelvet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good fun and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I only went here because my friend wanted to, but I am so glad he did. I will definitely go back next time I am in San Jose. The prices are so reasonable too.

We got the jerk chicken and pork combo. The pork in particular was sooo delicious. It was moist and tender and had a a smoky, spicy flavor. And then those fried plantains...yum. The rice and beans are mixed together and are very good as well.

I had thought about ordering the catfish, but decided on the Friday special: Escoveitch (snapper?) fish filet with rice and beans, festivals, and plantains. Oh my! The festivals were a new experience for me. They're fried dough. Just a tiny bit sweet, a little heavy, and surprisingly good. We left very full and very happy. Staff was very friendly too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Portlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Jerk, anyone?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Everybody has had their various experiences with "Jamaican Jerk Chicken." Some are good, some not-so-much. Come here if you want to rock your jerk-world! Serving authentic, Caribbean-inspired dishes full of flavor and spice, Back-A-Yard will NOT leave you wishing you'd gone elsewhere! I always get a combo platter - either chicken or pork - with the side of fried plantains, rice & beans, and a small side salad. Add a Red Stripe Lager, and you've got yourself a meal.

There can be a line, at times, but it's worth the wait...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun place, inexpensive...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This restaurant is definitely something fun and different for San Jose. Not too expensive and most of the food we had was great (dessert being the exception). Plantains and jerk chicken were particularly delicious! Good for take-out too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a staple for take-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We love this place! First went to the one in EPA but live close to the one in dt San Jose. Yummy. A couple of times the food was cold but that may have been just cuz my husband took so long to get home. I love their jerk chicken and the plantains. I also really like their curry goat; they have that on tuesdays I think. When I move away from this area Im really going to miss this local favorite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkitacal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back A Yard also viewed

 

Been to Back A Yard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing