We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spaghetti and meat sauce”

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Ranked #118 of 2,169 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
SAN JOSE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spaghetti and meat sauce”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is good food, sauce almost like grandmas - and what a great value too !! You start off with that warm delicious bread, follows with a salad, then your entrée plus dessert - ALL FOR ONE REASONABLE PRICE

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANTHONY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    71
    33
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went last night (Tuesday) and the place was jumping - as usual! Had an added surprise, too. It's Spaghetti Factory's 45th year celebration, so, prices were cut in half on some menu items. It has been a long time since I've eaten there, but they still had my favorite - potpourri - available. Also wanted meatballs on the side, and the server, Luis, suggested getting spaghetti with meatballs as one part of the potpourri instead. Great idea! 3 of us had wine with dinner and the total bill for the 4 of us was LESS than $40! Get there early. Went there at 5:00 and already there was a 1/2 hr. wait. And when we left, the inside waiting room, bar, and outside patio were full of people waiting to be seated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
246 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went there with a best friend on Halloween day (31st Oct). The food offered was fresh and awesome. Nothing sort of a marvel. The spaghetti was really nice. It's reasonably charged and the service was impressive. Throughly enjoyed the halloween day with good food and nice ambience there. Must visit if you are in San Jose.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMITRA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very forgettable meal but reasonable prices and a cool atmosphere”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We've been here a few times and while the building is quite cool, a very old brick building in a historic neighborhood, the food is simply forgettable. With the notable exception of the fresh bread, which was excellent, everything else was very plain, reminiscent of food you would get in a cafeteria. Nothing bad per se, but nothing impressive. I am surprised that the namesake spaghetti itself, and the sauce, are not any better than one makes at home in a few minutes. Even the ice cream at the end of the meal was not rich at all.

On the plus side, this is a good place for families because the prices are quite reasonable and everything comes as a complete meal including bread, soup or salad, and ice cream. Portions are decent, and the atmosphere is cool in an eclectic sort of way, like the streetcar inside the restaurant with tables in it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyTheGameInventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Food and Prices for Family”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We came to the Old Spaghetti Factory after checking out another spot that was full. Here they only had a 5 minute wait. We sat down and the waitress took our order. At other old spaghetti factories they bring the bread and butter pretty quickly and at this restaurant our waitress didn't bring it till we received our dinner. We did order an appetizer which was was the garlic cheese bread and it was yummy. We also ordered a new kids drink called the cotton candy slushie and we had to return it because it was too sweet. The waitress brought us a strawberry lemonade instead.

I had the baked chicken which came with the Mizithra cheese spaghetti and it was delish. The chicken was okay and filling. My son had the spaghetti and meatball but fell asleep after a couple of bites. Other people in our group had the spaghetti with two sauces and chicken pene . Our waitress disappeared after we paid her and had to ask another server to find her. We did get our ice cream and as always the spumoni is yummy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onedeesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Spaghetti Factory also viewed

 

Been to The Old Spaghetti Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing