We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get it while it's hot”
Review of House of Pizza

House of Pizza
Ranked #690 of 2,169 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Get it while it's hot”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place used to be downtown, but it is still almost downtown. The ambiance is not quite as nice as is used to be, but they did get bigger and moved all the novelties to the new location, about ten or so years ago. This place is the best when you eat it there. It is kind of like Pizza Hut's crust, only on steroids. You have to get it hot, crunchy, flaky, toasty and pastry like, all at once. It is still good cold the next day, but not quite the same. I miss you guys.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KnowBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
469 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Always Been a Great Place for Pizza”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

When in San Jose, and you want to get away from the chain pizza place, House of Pizza is an excellent choice, my wife and I have been going there for years, and I mean since we were kids, and now I take my grand kids and it is still as good as it always has been. The "confusion" with most everything is a classic. Not many places on the west coast square cut their pizza "St Louis" style like HOP does, which is also cool and the kids really like. It is a place that while not fancy is homey and for a lot of us, brings back good memories. If you have not been, it is well worth the effort. Prices for pizza and pitchers are pretty reasonable too. Parking is good and it is right close to downtown and convention center as well as 280 interstate.
You would regret it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you Love PIZZA, you have to go there!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

For GREAT Pizza, there is one stop you can not miss! Stop in and see for yourself!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Douglas_Berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Always a favorite. Excellent value. Try the "confusion". Decor is kitchy. It can be loud and they do have a full bar, but it is also a place you can bring the family. Not fancy, I would classify it as classic blue collar. The pizza is probably the best around. The place has lots of local history and has been a mainstay of the downtown San Jose area for decades.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This was a weekly visit...”
Reviewed March 9, 2008

This was a weekly visit during our college years...we went back about 6 months ago and the pizza was still square and very good!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House of Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing