We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back from Japan”

Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row
Ranked #106 of 2,154 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coming back from Japan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Having grown up here, I thought this was a very nice place until I visited Japan. Needless to say, I find this place quite average now, especially for the price. I wish we would have better Sushi restaurants in the neighborhood some day. Fish is fresh and the atmosphere is good, but there really is nothing so special or memorable about this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    42
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
128 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not to die for at all, quite overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ordinary. Not sure what the fuss is about. Perhaps I am jaded from visits to great eateries elsewhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NomadicNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Its a nice restaurant, but even the lunch is overpriced. It might be better to go to one of the great Japanese restaurants in Japantown.But if you like Santana Row, go and enjoy this!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good (but not outstanding) sushi at Santana Row”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Service was OK and prices were about average. The sushi was not exceptional; portions were on the small side. Regrettably, none of the hot dishes ordered (such as tempura) were actually hot when they reached our table - they tasted as it they had been standing around for a while.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olive2eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
226 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi - Eclectic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I ate at Blowfish Sushi in San Jose recently for lunch on a rainy weekday after having it recommended to me. Service was good and there were lots of seats available. I sat at the bar and had a great view of the chefs preparing my meal. The sushi was fresh and very good, and my server was attentive and friendly. Prices are appropriate for a restaurant such as this located in a trendy city area, which means a little on the expensive side.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row also viewed

 

Been to Blowfish Sushi--Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing