We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great selection - a bit procey”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #671 of 2,173 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Northern Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great selection - a bit procey”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I get a bigger lobster tail in Chicago for half the price - but overall great service and was relaxing

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Increased prices, decreased quality - don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Haven't been to an Outback for a while and now I remember why I stopped going. The quality continues to be poor but now even the portion sizes are laughable! Ordered a sirloin with lobster tails and a sweet potato. The steak (med) was very poor quality and very tough - I can buy much better steaks at the supermarket. The lobster tails were literally the size of med shrimp! I've never seen lobster tails that small. Same goes for the sweet potato - didn't know they could be that small. After all this, when I get my bill I discover that they are now charging $8 for a beer. That's it for me - won't be a next time.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreqTrvlr300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberry, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Poor service, but when complaint made Great resolution”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was on a business trip and went to the Outback. As a solo guest on business trips I am often put in a poor table spot. This is the case at this resturant. I sat for more than 10 minutes before I had to ask for a menu. I got the menu but my waiter never showed up for my order. I had to flag down the hostess. She took my order but it got lost. Still no waiter. I finally asked for the manager. He appologized and took my order and got it prepared ASAP. He was great! He did all that he could to make my meal ok. He also, comped the meal. I would go back to this resturant next time I am in town because of his extra efforts.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papamac56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I always get the same thing: The appetizer: The Aussie Cheesy Fries The Meal: Joey Sirloin (Medium) with Garlic...”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

I always get the same thing:
The appetizer: The Aussie Cheesy Fries
The Meal: Joey Sirloin (Medium) with Garlic Mashed Potatoes instead of the Fries
Yummy!!!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great for a chain restaurant. Good selection of beers on tap. The burgers are a good deal and very tasty.”
Reviewed December 21, 2007

Great for a chain restaurant. Good selection of beers on tap. The burgers are a good deal and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing