We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ARCADIA

ARCADIA
Reserve with OpenTable
ARCADIA is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 2,143 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Market Street
Description: Acclaimed Chef Michael Mina's ARCADIA features a modern American steakhouse menu. In addition to mouth-watering steaks, the expanded menu offers fresh fish and chicken dishes, expertly prepared, as well as the freshest shellfish. Enjoy "ARCADIA Classics" like Lobster Corn Dogs, Ahi Tuna Tartare, Whole Fried Chicken, and Steak Rossini. Accompany your meal with traditional steakhouse sides prepared with Mina's modern twist. “Voted Best Steakhouse by Best of the Bay TV Viewers in 2011”
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The food was exceptional - the design of the facility was "thoughtful" with great attention to the details. The food and service exceeded my expectations. Josh - their Sommelier - great knowledge and recommendations.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gs532013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    53
    27
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
326 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

First time visit to this restaurant in downtown San Jose. Wonderful cocktails (I had a dry martini up), followed by a delicious American Wagyu Flat Iron Steak paired with a Classic Bearnaise Sauce. It was tender and delicious and quite spectacular! I thought the service was very good and the restaurant modern and comfortable. It is a bit on the pricey side but the experience was enjoyable. I will try it again at some point in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced...food is lackluster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I love Michael Mina restaurants and I was so excited to come here during our most recent ladies night but Arcadia just didnt deliver. The ambiance had no wow factor. We made a last minute reservation and the restaurant was empty and didnt seat us at one of the more luxurious booths although it was clear that they werent reserved. We started with cocktails- all of which were to sweet and/or very weak. We ordered the following-

Lobster Corndog- tasted like a frozen mini corn dog you can find in the grocery store- filling seemed more like a congealed lump of mystery meat

Kale Caesar- way too tart for our taste- waiter offered to bring frech ground pepper to offset some of the tartness but forgot to bring it out.

Diver Scallops- The scallops were huge but overcooked and a bit rubbery.

Wagyu Flat Iron- The steak was juicy and tender but lacked presentation. It was just two pieces of steak stacked on top of each other. The Pinot Noir Sauce we ordered it with was too sweet.

Carrot Cake and Profiteroles- Dessert was the best part of our meal. You cant really go wrong with profiteroles and nutella and the carrot cake was not too sweet and had the most delicious creme fraiche ice cream.

Our meal ended up being over $300- and although it was decent- there are just so many other places that worth that kind of price tag.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BossLady84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super hotel restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

In keeping with the trend to have something more than just an accommodation restaurant, this restaurant has some really good food! It easily competes with the standalone restaurants in the area. It also, however, keeps up with them by having a pricey menu. Despite the food and prices, the decor is pretty far behind. Don't let that stop you though, the kitchen makes up for it! The specialty drinks, while good, are very pricey for the size. They come off as especially small for the premium price.

All-in-all, I would come back here for a great meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hemingray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Find another place for breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast since we stayed at the adjoining Marriot hotel. We were seated at a very dirty table and it was quite a while before anyone came to talk with us. When the waiter did came she pushed the buffet, but we insisted on ordering from the menu. The buffet did not look especially appetizing. Again we waited quite a while for the food. My breakfast sandwich had inedible prosciutto in it (try eating shoe leather). My husband had scrambled eggs (hard to go wrong with that). He loved the hash browns, crunchy on the outside and soft in the middle. Coffee was decent. The bill was around $38 for the 2 of us. Next time we'll go elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakegirl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ARCADIA also viewed

 

Been to ARCADIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing