We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than most” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Joe's Restaurant

Original Joe's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 2,143 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
279 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Better than most”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 6 had a great meal with excellent service from a friendly waiter. Portions were large and the house chanti wine was good. Highly recommend and we will visit again

Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    334
    157
    53
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
591 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Italian Steak House! Old school!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I went to this place solo and decided to sit in the bar. Service was good and I found the waitress very helpful. The bartenders make a great martini so don't be afraid to ask for your specific preference. I tried the veal with mushrooms and chose the cheese ravioli side. All was very fresh with large portions. My only comment would be to ask for less sauce on the veal and ravioli. My entrees had to much. Other than that good was tasty and they also have your standard salad available. The steaks other people ordered looked good. I will try that next time.

Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sinatra Lives!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Everything about this place screams Italian Mafia! All of the wait-staff are older men in tuxedos. They have poor attitudes about service, such as I had a question about a sandwich on the menu and he responded as if I was taking up his time and annoying him. He actually said It's a sandwich. Do you want it or not?" Ummmm ok? The food itself was decent. They do a good job with the food, and even if it's supposed to have that "mafia" feel? They kinda need to make sure it's on purpose instead of just rude.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foreverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Style 60's Diner quite a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

At first I assumed it was one of the franchise restaurants, so what a surprise when we arrived. It was a Sunday evening and packed with a 45 minute wait. We decided to sit at the counter. It was a great decision. Absolutely the best entertainment, watching the various cooks do their thing. Had a great meal, huge portions. Certainly not gourmet, just good diner style cooking. We went back two more times during our stay in San Jose.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McGoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
181 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old Time Steak House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is the old time steak house your dad went too! Waiters in tuxedos, steaks as big as the plates. Bread and steak great, sauteed spinach excellent. Waiter was a little heavy handed on pouring coffee, sloppy, spilled on saucer dripping on table. Overall good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smokeyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Joe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Original Joe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing