We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of my list.”
Review of Le Papillon

Le Papillon
Ranked #29 of 2,163 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Bus
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Top of my list.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The most outstanding dinners and service...exquisitely prepared with the finest local ingredients by Executive Chef, Scott Cooper. Contemporary California cuisine with a contemporary French influence. Perfect for special occasion dinners, business dinners, private dinners or stopping in later for a glass of champagne and a spectacular dessert (call in advance for their Grand Marnier Souffle).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KKDECO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    25
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, don't be put off by location”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Must rate as one of the best restaurants I've been too, in this poor of a location. If you're looking for fabulous views or outside dining, I wouldn't bother. But if high end fare is what you're after, then this place is definitely worth your short list in San Jose.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lexingtonbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and great location!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have been to this restaurant few times now. The food is always great, great selection of wines. One thing I really like about this place is the price of wines. They are not trying to rip you off on the price. It is only two to 2.5 times than the retail price unlike some other restaurants that try to charge 5 or 6 times than the retail.

Service is great, very friendly people. One more thing..If you do not know much about wines..ask for the recommendations...The staff is excellent in recommending wines..they surely know their wines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parveer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Never have had a bad meal or service. Outstanding traditional French menu with updated twists. Excellent wine list. Parking limited.

Helpful?
Thank RichMLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Severely disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I took my GF here for our second anniversary. Judging by all the reviews I was expecting to be blown away. I was severely underwhelmed. We both chose the tasting menu and wine pairings. Our server... it must have been his first day. Kid was terrible. Couldn't explain really any of the dishes. Constantly had to go ask someone else. The portions... they wouldn't fill a guinea pigs stomach. And they served us half a glass of beer with our second course instead of wine... seriously? $460 for two people to eat and I get beer? unbelievable. While the food was very tasty, i would not recommend any ever eating here. Better off going to Manresa and spending half the money, getting twice the service, and food that will literally leave you feeling like you've gone to heaven.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnpatrick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Papillon also viewed

 

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing