We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and great location!!”
Review of Le Papillon

Le Papillon
Ranked #29 of 2,173 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Bus
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and great location!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have been to this restaurant few times now. The food is always great, great selection of wines. One thing I really like about this place is the price of wines. They are not trying to rip you off on the price. It is only two to 2.5 times than the retail price unlike some other restaurants that try to charge 5 or 6 times than the retail.

Service is great, very friendly people. One more thing..If you do not know much about wines..ask for the recommendations...The staff is excellent in recommending wines..they surely know their wines.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parveer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    26
    12
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Never have had a bad meal or service. Outstanding traditional French menu with updated twists. Excellent wine list. Parking limited.

Helpful?
Thank RichMLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Severely disappointed”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I took my GF here for our second anniversary. Judging by all the reviews I was expecting to be blown away. I was severely underwhelmed. We both chose the tasting menu and wine pairings. Our server... it must have been his first day. Kid was terrible. Couldn't explain really any of the dishes. Constantly had to go ask someone else. The portions... they wouldn't fill a guinea pigs stomach. And they served us half a glass of beer with our second course instead of wine... seriously? $460 for two people to eat and I get beer? unbelievable. While the food was very tasty, i would not recommend any ever eating here. Better off going to Manresa and spending half the money, getting twice the service, and food that will literally leave you feeling like you've gone to heaven.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnpatrick85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice for a special night”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Went here recently to celebrate an anniversary. By the looks of things about half the people were there for some similar occasion.

Some of the servers did a great job explaining how to use the menu - the only options are either a 3-course prix fixe or 4-course prix fixe.

Our waiter just sort of gave us the menu and took our orders. Other servers explained "you can combine any 3 (or 4) items you like, in any order". Some folks have a salad and 3 desserts, others have a soup and 2 entree's. Might have been nice to know this when we ordered. Other than this, the service and meal were really spectacular.

Service was from another era, attentive with nearly perfect timing. The food was great and portions were reasonable (not typical American massive, but not tiny French either).

They offer a Gran Marnier souffle for dessert and it was good - but I likely would order off the standard menu the next time.

A good selection of half bottles of wine for those who can't finish a whole bottle or have divergent preferences.

Likely will go back for another special night. Unfortunately, prices put it firmly on the "for something special" list.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jondf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The butterfly was on your plate.”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food there was excellent. I studied a bit of classic French cooking under one of Le Papillon's former chefs, so I'm familiar with many of their recipes.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ODonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing