We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Falafel and banana shake”
Review of Falafel Drive-In

Falafel Drive-In
Ranked #1 of 2,173 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
San Jose, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy Falafel and banana shake”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I pretty much always have the special whenever I go there. Fresh banana shake and the large falafel. Lines can be long and parking may be a challenge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnobotSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    245
    61
    18
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The falafels are truly outstanding- the best I've ever had!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Go to the Falafel Drive-in for the falafels! I've eaten them many, many times over the past 30+ years. They are always outstanding. Unfortunately, I haven't tried much else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmokeyandAshes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best falafel ever”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Causal, quick good and lip-smacking messy. The wait is never long - so hang in there. IT IS WORTH IT

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Falafells & Gyros”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Everything I have had here is always excellent. Don't be discouraged by the people in line because it moves fast

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Falafel Drive-in, Who Knew?”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Another DDD experience that we had to try - got that food network app that points to all the places they've shot a show at... Some good, some not so good - this one is definitely a keeper. Had the large falafel on a pita and shared a batch of onion rings - a great meal. I really wish there was tzatkiki sauce to slather on the sandwich and there's a lot of lettuce to go with a lot of falafel.

Popular place, and expect to sit outside - with San Jose weather, who's complaining? People line up to the street to place an order, but the wait is not long. Like a Seinfeld episode, know what you want when you get to the window...

Next time I'm in for the gyro... another great looking meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falafel Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing