We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and a little nostalgic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient and a little nostalgic”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had 10 stays in this hotel last year. It is convenient to the South Bay Area (San Jose, Cupertino, Sunnyvale). This is a not a new hotel. It was built in 1911 and has all the charm and warts you would expect from a hotel that is over 100 years old. The rooms are spacious and functional if not luxurious. The staff is friendly and efficient. One of my favorite things about this hotel are the free passes to the Balley's Health Club across the street. It gives you a much better work out experience than you would expect from a Four Points. Mosaic, the in house restaurant also has a diverse menu and is much better than a typical hotel menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregRCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We're so glad you enjoy staying with us when you're in San Jose. Safe travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    219
    76
    28
    19
See reviews for
60
109
55
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went to a party that was help at this hotel and I must say that it was wonderful. The location, the food, the drinks, the service it was all great. I met the director of sales and from the moment we met with JC he made us feel very welcome. I will definitely be having another event there soon. I especially love the modern feel. Overall I would give 10 stars but I am only allowed 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback! We are so happy to hear that we met your expectations on all levels! We value JC and all his hard work as well - we will be sure and pass your comments along to him. Let us know when you want to hold your event here! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed here with my husband couple of times now and I have to say that it is a fantastic hotel. What makes this place special is that its right in the middle of downtown easy to get around. Second, the rooms themselves are nice. They are always clean and the service is always top notch. The food and drinks are the best.. Will stay here again and again when visiting the bay area. Thanks JC for making us feel comfortable and your recommendations... They were great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Let me start off by commenting on the check in staff. They were courteous and @ 10:30 PM understood a person that travels often doesn't want a bunch of pomp and circumstance when simply trying to place their head on a pillow. I am SPG platinum and locations like this can be a dice roll on upgrades but the front desk staff proactively acknowledged and my upgrade to a "junior suite " was already in place. The room was what you would expect. Comfy bed a plaid chair and a pull out couch with my only complaint being the sub-optimal placement of the tv with regard to the bed.

I did not partake in any food so no comment there.

My only 2 issues.

1. The parking attendant acted like a troll under a bridge collecting his cut. Bad experience he could have just been having an off day.

2. Even with a courtyard facing view the street noise was annoying and disrupted my sleep.

All and all what you would expect for what it is - a business hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liveonthegrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay, and are pleased to hear you were able to settle in after your late arrival. We have passed along your comments to our front desk associates and have addressed your parking experience with our attendant. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Within minutes of arrival we knew we had made the right choice. This place so exceeds expectation. It's the whole package. Comfort, peace, food, drink!!! JC the Director of Sales is the best host ever! Cant wait to go to our concert tomorrow. Do not miss an opportunity to stay here. The internet works perfectly, despite some other reviews and everything is amazingly clean and well done!!!! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is straightforward. What you'd expect for a Four Points. I really liked the hotel staff. We arrived late and were greeted by Angela who made our check-in easy and painless. We had a somewhat complicated reservation, but she was able to sort it all out quickly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Jeff R -

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel accommodations and our friendly associates. Hope to see you back soon at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I just got back from one night at this hotel. I booked on-line and requested a quiet room. They put us on the 4th floor at the back of the building. It was quiet indeed. Our friends were on the front and on the second floor. I can only imagine the noise they had endured. Our room was very nice. For the rate it really can't be beat. Check in was quick and pleasant. The hotel seems to be well cared for, and the bed was very comfortable. If you need to be downtown give this place a look. We parked at the lot next door and paid $23 from 6PM to noon the next day if that matters to anyone. I did not know the light rail goes right by the hotel or we would have just taken that.

Room Tip: If you book on-line request a 4th floor room in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Shorties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourpointsGMSanJose, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi:

Thanks for the kind review! We're always very pleased to hear such enthusiastic positive feedback.

I'm so glad you had an enjoyable visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again,

Randy Zimmerman, General Manager
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
625 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Address: 211 S 1st St, San Jose, CA 95113-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown is a historic hotel with free wifi and 86 luxurious guest rooms. We are near McEnery Convention Center, HP Pavilion, SJSU, and other downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
Montgomery Hotel San Jose
Montgomery San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing