We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holy smoke!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harry's Hofbrau

Harry's Hofbrau
Ranked #56 of 2,152 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“holy smoke!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

love this place!lunch and dinner.amazing menu====i'd actually give it 6 stars! sandwiches made to order-----they have every conceivable thing. no pressed meat. daily specials-yum.salads,desserts, hot dinners and sandwiches. homemade. they also cater. casual dress. you'll love it too. friendly people and staff. speedy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rushrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    31
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz area CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Delicious - Delightful - will certainly be BACK!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Apparently this establishment has been here since the 1950's - had never been there but we had a work-related party here and I was amazed at the selection and excellent food~ Great service, and everything, of course, ready to eat right NOW! Beautifully prepared, hugh variety of dishes, and all are perfectly done. Wonderful atmosphere - there is NOTHING remotely like this in Santa Cruz where I live - and it is WORTH every second to drive over the hill to this welcoming and exciting place to share good conversation and enjoy a delicious meal that will make everyone happy. The choices alone were amazing - the care put into their recipes and REASONABLE prices make it obvious why they have lasted and have such a loyal clientele. NO WONDER the workers all seem to joyful!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chechina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good meal for the money”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Served quickly and efficiently, cafeteria style. Large seating area with comfortable serving a wide variety of brews. While the menu is limited to "Hof brau style " meat dishes, there still are salads and a variety of side dished. Fresh roasted turkey and roast beef. Great comfort food and a full turkey dinner always available at a reasonable price. $12.95 when we were there for lunch. Freshly prepared sandwiches are also available

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannea392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Level Contributor
222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Stick to your ribs food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Roast turkey sandwiches are very good. Turkey is very moist, and that includes the white meat. If you want to make turkey soup they will sell you the turkey carcass for $7 - a good deal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bigpenny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot Turkey and Roast Beef”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Every time I come to San Jose we go to Harry's. When we lived in San Jose we visited at least once a week. The food is always good and priced reasonably. We celebrated my birthday this year at Harry's and were lucky enough to hear the Peninsula Banjo Band.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bajalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Hofbrau also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Hofbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing