We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely room, bad neighborhood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Fair Grove, MO
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“lovely room, bad neighborhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

Room was large and comfy, staff was friendly and helpful - no complaints about the hotel. However I was extremely uncomfortable with the location. Seedy neighborhood - was edgy unloading/loading the car in broad daylight, which is too bad, because it's a perfectly lovely hotel.

  • Liked — great room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nettermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    24
    6
    11
See reviews for
19
9
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

Inexpensive hotel, convenient to airport and downtown. Rooms are large and well appointed. Staff very professional. Bathroom has nice toiletries, and maid has made fancy decorations of towels and washcloths. Comfortable bed. Indoor parking. Perfect place for the business person to stay.

  • Liked — large, comfortable rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

We are on an extended road trip throughout the country and have stayed at numerous Comfort Inns. This facility is as nice as any of them. However, there are some issues with location and operations. The location is in a neighborhood with bars on the windows of many of the businesses, guys hanging on the street as though they may be engaged in questionable small business activities and a warning that you should take ALL of the stuff out of your car. As you enter the building you encounter a television blaring for the convenience of the desk clerks ala classic detective fiction seedy motels. The lobby computer has a printer with a fading sign on it saying that there is no printer cartridge - this continued for the three days we were there even though we were assured that they were expecting a delivery "anyday." Our room was ready except for the toiletries left behind by a prior occupant. Breakfast was most of the usual Comfort Inn menu but each day we had to ask them for more milk, cereal, biscuits, gravy, condiments, juice, waffle batter...every day we had to do this! The general overall feeling was the same one you get when you go to the occasional McDonalds that is stumbling along with management problems.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank cmujmumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Gorgeous North Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

I am not sure what to say about this hotel. It was okay but not great.
The beds were tiny and not real comfortable .The shower tile was cracked. The elevator worked the first day but was broken the next morning. It was still broken the following day when we checked out which made hauling lugguage down from 3rd floor a pain.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Nearby businesses have bars on the windows which gave me a very bad impression right away.
I guess city center is about 3miles away and it is fun to walk around, little shops and restaurants. It is about 20 - 30 minutes from Great America theme park.
The breakfast was sad. Each morning either the orange juice was out or the cranberry- only 2 choices. The bread items began to run out and both mornings none of them were replaced or refreshed. I guess they only put so much out and then that is it, when everything is gone, well, it's gone. Cheese cubes for breakfast...interesting.
It says it is an airport hotel but I didn't see an airport or hear airplanes so not sure where that is. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysnowflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

I arrived an hour earlier than the check-in time and they welcomed me in. They questioned my appearance for a time because they thought I was underage and requested ID, sadly it looks like they don't trust me. But it was all taken care of right away afterwards. Check in take a little longer than all of my recent stays but it was ok.

This hotel is located off freeway 101 and its located probably inside downtown San Jose. The view outside isn't anything nice while we were on the third floor, but the noise outside wasn't troublesome at all during our stay.

We arrived at our room and we plopped on the bed, it was very comfortable and we napped nicely. Their heater/AC system was programmed from a Thermostat on the wall which was neat because we had total control on what the temperature could be in the room.

The bathroom was HUGE, we had a tub and shower in one, also a huge space to walk around in the bathroom. Not much hotels out there has a big bathroom and this is a first. Water ran real hot and they gave out a lot of towels.

The wireless internet at the hotel was real fast. I was able to bid on ebay and check my balance at a very fast speed as if I was home. It was just a turn on your laptop and just go online.

The TV was not flat panel or any sort but it was alot newer than our stay at Econo Lodge back in Fremont. That TV sure was old in Fremont. We weren't able to see how the breakfast was at the hotel because we didn't wake up until 30 minutes before check-out time.

The hotel consists of a clean room, our fridge was huge and we also had a microwave, huge bathroom, programmable thermostat a big plus, and also the noise was not as bad.

Just when I checked in and out, the staff didn't look as lively as my other stays. This one probably had the not happy looking staff out of all the hotels I've been in. Even the cheaper hotels like Quality Inn and Econo Lodge had happier receptionist then this hotel. But still the room here was AMAZING.

  • Liked — Big Space, Big Fridge, Thermostat, Quiet
  • Disliked — Staff not happy, doesn't look like they like working there
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jrjrdinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

I arrived at this hotel at late night and i checked in by my internet booking ticket.
That was a very quick process.

The room is clean and it has more amenities than i can imagine.
And some amenities can not be found even in a 4 star hotel.But when you compare the price,it is very affordable.This hotel is a bargain.

When i get up, walk to downstais to check out.There are some travelors who are eating breakfast served by comfort inn.I looked around,the breadfast is good.Unfortunately,i already ate my cheese cake before i checked out.But i still want to recommend this hotel.

It is very convenient to san jose international airport.The taxi fare is about $11.And you may tip driver $2.

The hotel staff is very friendly and help answer my questions very good.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jlvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

the Wyndm was full and so I was referred here. The area is horrible in terms of restaurants, convenience stores everything. The hotel is very clean although the cleaning solution is toxic...if you have the slightest allergy...the smell is so bad...the artifiical clean smell. The first night I needed a cable cord and restaurant info and the desk clerk was SOBBING about a personal issue and could not answer a question. Turns out no restaurants in walking distance..and not safe to walk anyway. Need to take a cab to anything....
Wake up call didn't work. Worst "free" breakfast at any Comfort Inn I've ever stayed at. Room -spotlessly clean. Hotel overall -horrible. Never will stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, large room
  • Disliked — unsafe neighborhood with no restaurants and front desk very uninformed
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
#37 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.4 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#46 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#38 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Airport
0.8 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Airport
Days Inn San Jose Airport
#49 of 76 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 875 N 13th St, San Jose, CA 95112-1529 (Formerly The Comfort Inn San Jose International Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn San Jose Airport tops the list of hotels & suites for value, service & a central location. You'll experience superior hotel service, style and value-added features two miles from the San Jose, CA International Airport and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn San Jose
San Jose Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing