We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good BBQ”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #108 of 2,185 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: http://www.famousdaves.com/locations/Zip 95125
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.famousdaves.com/locations/Zip 95125
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My first time here & it's one I will come back to. The bbq rib tips were very good & they gave me a lot. I like the choices of their sides. The baked beans & mac & cheese were really outstanding. I like that they have the different bbq sauces on the side. Two of us had margaritas & they were very tasty. The waitress was very friendly & attentive. All of us very much enjoyed our dinners. I had enough to take home for lunch the next day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FliteAttendntParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

You usually go to Dave's for Ribs & Chicken but their hamburgers are wonderful. We often get the All American BBQ Feast when we have company & want a BBQ meal with loads of choices. You can also get their smaller feast or their family to go items. Great for nights I don't want to cook.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cheridiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go with an empty stomach.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I ordered the Feast with 3 of my friends, and after becoming stuffed, we still had a lot of food for doggie bags. The ribs, chicken and links were plentiful, tasty, and juicy. The sides of cole slaw, potato salad, and baked beans were yummy. The lemonade was some of the best I've had in a restaurant. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable of the menu and various sauces. The booth was comfortable and the atmosphere was pleasant. You can't go wrong, especially if you're hungry and want a good meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“old school”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is not great BBQ. It is a fun old fashioned road house, where you can get as much texas toast as you want, and a pile of decent quality meat. The BBQ is texas style, but doesn't have almost any smoke to it. The prices are very reasonable - we got a combo platter that fed us for days. If you want better BBQ, check out Smoking Pig and ask for some off the high side, or go south a town to Trail Dust where you can learn what smoke is all about. It's better than most of the places in the san jose area, if you really want a pile of meat you could do worse.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best BBQ this side of Lucille's in LA”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great EVERYTHING!!!! The pork ribs were served "naked" w/o sauce. They were tender and didn't have much fat on them. The rub was excellent. Plenty of sauces ranging from sweet to hot. John, the manager, was outstanding as was his personnel. Dave's has a bar area where you can eat and/or drink while watching their plasma TV's or you can eat in the lively dining area. I love ribs and this is one of our "go to" places in San Jose. Don't forget dessert. Their bread pudding is fantastic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWiedmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing