We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We wanted a quick getaway from the city so we chose Hotel Valencia mainly for the pool, but the whole property definitely exceeded our expectations! Location is right in the middle of Santana Row, so there's a bunch of places to eat/drink/shop nearby. Our king room facing the courtyard/pool was modern and very spacious. FYI - You can hear people from the bar getting turnt up at night in the courtyard - it didn't bother us much though. After check-in, housekeeping came by with a couple of cold brewskis - random and awesome. The 5th floor pool area was a bit small, but relaxing (minus all the kids). Didn't expect complimentary breakfast but it was a nice touch, and pretty good as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Valencia. We look forward to having you back as a return guest. Please make sure your sign up for our frequent guest program -- VVIP. Then you can choose the type of "brewskis" you want.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 813 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in a very nice mall. We loved the relaxing rooftop pool and the chic decor. The room was spacious and luxurious, with a nice balcony. My only complaint was that there was some noise at night (the adjacent room's door slamming would cause our headboard to shake, and we could hear the occasional loud car passing in the mall below. Overall, this is a great place to stay, if you can afford it.

Room Tip: The rooms the face the outside are going to be noisier than the ones that face inwards (toward the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLC-Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Valencia and in Santana Row.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We arrived at 3pm on a Sunday and all restaurants and lounges on the property were closed. The gentleman who checked us in helped us get appetizers and beverages while waiting for the restaurants to open. Excellent service, even from the kitchen staff. Even though this hotel recently went through a major renovation, rooms are cramped and seem dated (bathrooms), but is rated high because of the location (Santana Row).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear Denise A.,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Valencia. I am sorry that that the new décor was not pleasing to you. However, I am glad that the staff was able to meet your dining needs.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Granted - we didn't pay for it or choose it (it was chosen and paid for by my wife's workplace) - but it was an amazing hotel nonetheless.

The Valencia is posh, beautiful, well designed and well maintained. The rooms are beautiful and large, great beds, very clean. It's even a very comfortable place to do some after-hours work if you need to. Breakfast is fantastic.

Santana Row itself is a very nice and very peculiar place. It's a very classy, quite expensive shopping district located actually pretty far off from the city center. You got lots of very good bars and restaurants around (check out Veggie Grill, it's a vegan paradise) and lots of posh shops (Brooks brothers, etc). Across the street there's a big mall with Macy's, Apple Store, Uniqlo etc. It's a very safe, planned and clean street. Almost to an uncomfortable degree.

In this street, the Valencia fits right in. I recommend visiting downtown San Jose to get the reel feel of the city, as Santana Row is not an organic part of it. Campbell is also very cool.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter. Rooms overviewing the courtyard are great, you get to watch the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank haoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for wife's company for choosing Hotel Valencia! Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

For this part of San Jose I was expecting a larger price tag for my room at Hotel Valencia. You are right in the middle of Santana Row which is populated with high end shops all around you. Nice area to get out and walk around, have a dinner, or enjoy a glass of wine. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very nice. It is great to stay somewhere that takes some time to furnish it with some personality. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Mark Q:

Thank you or your wonderful comments on Hotel Valencia and Santana Row. We hope your business brings you back this way soon.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. Despite our room not being ready at check in (check in is at three and we arrived at 4:30 and our room was still not ready) and A new front desk person who didn't tell us that there was complementary breakfast and tried to give us our room keys before the room was cleaned, it was still a very nice stay.

The location is awesome… Walk out the front door and you are in an amazing shopping and restaurant mecca. We were there Friday night through Sunday and heard several live bands and musicians playing throughout our stay. Such a nice touch as you walk along the streets and enjoy the beautiful weather.

The pool is very small so if you want to do that during your stay make sure to grab a chair early in the day. They are just starting to serve food at the pool so their system is not very efficient. Don't plan to eat until 45 minutes after your order is placed. Our order was also incorrect which was inconvenient since we had starving children.

The service here was average. I think if staff was trained to be more hospitable and welcoming i.e. make eye contact and smile, even learn guests names, then this would really kick the hotel up a star level.

The rooms were very nice. They are large and decorated eclectically. We had a view of the green space near the playground and maggiano's and it was wonderful to open up our windows and enjoy the live music.

Great stay but service could be improved upon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share some very constructive feedback. I have shared with our operational managers to work on improvements.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back often.

Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

we usually go to San Jose 2-3 times a year and usually stay at another hotel in Milpitas. last two times we had stayed at the Valencia. What a difference.

It is not just the setting in Santana Row, but the whole experience. Shopping? Check, Restaurants? Check, Bars? Check..

The staff is great and one of the best amenities at the hotel...V Bar..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Glad we hit all the marks! Hope to see you on your next visit.

Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,346 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,512 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 75 in San Jose
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#13 of 75 in San Jose
649 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $232 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing