We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 'Staycation' Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a great time enjoying a one night get away. We were able to relax by the pool with drinks and snacks and then cruise Santana Row for a restaurant of our choice in the evening. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. They have a great happy hour in their hotel lobby bar which was quite lively ln the later evening hours. They accomodated us with a late checkout and then we were able to enjoy the pool for the afternoon. Great place to get away and relax! The bed was very comfortable. The room rate included breakfast on the 7th floor terrace which had a nice view of the Santa Cruz Mountains. This hotel is in the middle of a very lively area with shopping, many restaurants and night clubs. We found the room to be well insulated and did not hear any noise from the street (we were on the 6th floor). Great place!

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room or a room not over the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your "Staycation". We are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back often!

Cordially,
Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 819 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only live about half hour drive away from this hotel location. We come to this area often and belong to the Club One gym, love the shops, plus mall across the street and restaurants.
This visit, we gathered with friends, had dinner and many drinks. We just had to walk back to the hotel. Our King bed was extremely comfortable. We had a balcony overlooking the back garage. In my opinion, the room is well insulated and we could not hear noise from the service room right outside our door or garage. We had a nice breakfast, included in the price but had to pay for parking our car. Check out was noon, but we had time to lay by the pool for more than two hours before we left. Relaxing and we will do this again. Rates are cheaper weekdays than weekends.

Room Tip: Let's say this, I have stayed in San Francisco and their rooms are very noisy due to the age and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your "staycation". We appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to having you back soon and often!

Cordially,
Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband has always enjoyed hanging out at Santana Row, so on our third visit there, he decided we should stay overnight at Hotel Valencia. The location couldn't be more perfect, especially for avid shoppers from out of town who don't wish to drive an hour back home (we live at Marin). My peeve with the hotel is the fact that guests have to take 2 different elevators just to get to their room (weird hotel design?) and that walls are so thin that you can hear people talking upstairs and outside. Noise from the vibrant nightlife at Santana Row makes this hotel less ideal for a romantic getaway. Breakfast was decent and hotel staff are really helpful. Just wish our room came with a kettle and bedroom slippers (otherwise, why tease us with tea/coffee satchels and bathrobes). As old farts, we felt out of place in a party hotel like Valencia ;)

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room with a courtyard view. Even though our room faced the street, the view wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are happy you enjoy the hotel and the area.

We would be happy to provide you with slippers and a kettle on your next stay. Just send an email to santanarow@valenciagroup.com with special requests.

Cordially,
Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The trip was in the early 2000's but this site doesn't date back so far.

The location on Santana Row offers great opportunities to shop until you drop and for lunches, dnners et all. Very lively neighborhood, very lively hotel with large, comfortable beds and excellent roomservice and after-service.

Room Tip: "forget" your pyjamas and ask if they return them to you and you get your pyjamas back wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derksen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing our pleasure in staying at Hotel Valencia and Santana Row. We hope you will be visiting us often!

Cordially,
Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had not been to this property in many years, since it originally opened, and it looks like no one has taken care of the rooms since. Although Santana Row makes for a lovely setting for a business or pleasure trip to the San Jose area, this hotel lacks proper upkeep. My room actually had chewed stuck gum on a wall, assorted stray hairs around, and even trash left behind the furniture. Moreover, the walls, wood trim, and furnishings are all beat up. There is no concierge service at all, no one at the front desk had the ability to suggest hikes or even help with dinner reservations. The courtyard however is lovely, the bowl of oranges a nice touch, and the free (very standard fare) breakfast a plus. Overall, I suggest that someone focus on making the rooms clean and fresh. It feels very neglected.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are in the final stages of planning for a renovation which will begin in November and run through February. I hope that you will return and check out the fresh new look at that time.

Cordially,

Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I agree with previous posters this is a very noisy hotel . I was there last week of May for a business trip and was keep awake quite a few nights due to loud music- when I complained next day at reception they blamed the Irish bar around the corner!!

Rooms were nice and breakfast was good .
In summary if you plan to be out partying most of the time this is the hotel for you .
If you are a business traveller or value your sleep this note is not for you .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback. The hotel is located in an urban location and there does tend to be a lot of activity in the area. The hotel shares a building with an Irish Bar as well as a Sushi restaurant which along with traffic and people noise, it does not tend to be a quiet neighborhood. We are sorry that your stay was not as relaxing as you wished.

Cordially,
Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

the hotel should let future guests know about the excessive partying and noise in the facilities. at all nights and even in the afternoons, we had to deal with intense noise from a wedding and from the bar downstairs from our room. sharing A LINE with party-goers to catch the elevator to our room was the WORST surprise. not only we had to wait in line, but also had to deal with drunk, loud and inconvenient fellows. we totally expected to be in a calm relaxing hotel that brags to have one of the best spas in town. that didn't happen and our stay was NOT relaxing al all. the other unnecessary surprise at the end was to get our car from the vallet with potato chips everywhere in the driver seat. one day before arriving at the hotel we had the car cleaned and washed, we did not have any food inside and did not take the car during our stay, so that leads us to think the someone else, with access to the car, enjoyed a snack inside our car and was not careful enough to pick up after eating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FefeVolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is in a lively, urban location and does attract patrons in a celebratory mood -- especially wedding guests.

The issue with your valet parked car will be reviewed with our staff to ensure there is not unauthorized use of any vehicles in our care.

Again, my sincere apologies.

Cordially,

Bonnie Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,394 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,525 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#7 of 75 in San Jose
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#12 of 75 in San Jose
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#34 of 75 in San Jose
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $235 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing