We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Silicon Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Silicon Valley”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel Valencia during a three day business trip. The staff and room was great.

For those not familiar with Santana Row, it's an urban version of Main Street USA. Where retail, restaurants, and housing blend together to create a walkable urban space. The great thing about Santana row is also one of the minor issues with the hotel. The streets and crowds can be loud at night. Ask for a courtyard room to minimize the noise. Otherwise, the hotel is ultra convenient and in the heart of Santana Row. You never need to drive anywhere while staying at the hotel.

The hotel room was fantastic and so was the staff. The room was clean, comfortable and large. Plenty of space to relax and take it easy after a long day. The bed was extremely comfortable and my room was quite...I asked for a courtyard room upon check-in. The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet every morning. The selection of breakfast items was the perfect to the day.

The only concern I had with the hotel was the general maintenance of the common areas. The hallway carpet on the 6th floor look dirty and in some places the carpeting was starting to ripple. Also, the bar and lobby needed to be freshened up as it was looking dark and dirty.

One tip, save yourself $24 a night and self-park. The underground parking garage is only a short walk around the corner from the hotel and has plenty of spaces for those that park overnight.

I would definitely come back again. The hotel didn't get five stars from me due to the lack of common area maintenance. However, I heard the hotel is expecting to remodel soon which once complete will change my rating from four to five stars.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MPLS-MN_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

We will be renovating all of the guest rooms, corridors, elevator landings, lobby and Vbar beginning in November. We feel confident you will enjoy the fresh new look!

Cordially,
Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    258
    97
    35
    37
See reviews for
114
199
32
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

One of my favorite hotels in the Bay Area. The rooms are fresh and designed with a chic, modern touch. Everything is super clean and the staff is great: knowledgable and friendly. Located in the great location of Santa Row with tons of things to do. Beds are comfortable, rooms smell great, and bathrooms large and clean. Just cant say enough about this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the courtyard. The rooms facing the street can get noisy due to the bars/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Valencia. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Cordially,
Bonnie Bet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding weekend and enjoyed the hotel's services ( Lovely breakfast) and surrounding "village" of Santana Row's shops and restaurants.

As it is centrally located to many other Bay Area destinations, one area for management focus is the hotel's ability to make relationships with taxi's and provide an entrance and exit to service hotel and restaurant customers. On two occasions, we had to leave the hotel's taxi stand after waiting 20-30 minutes to hail a cab - the last time, to make it to the wedding before the "I do's!"

Hotel room was spacious, modern and clean with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapwing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Your comments regarding taxi accessibility has been passed on to our staff to work on improvement.

Cordially,

Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Beside that the hotel is located on a great place ( Santana Row ) with a lot of restaurants an shops,
The staff is always very friendly an helpful. Like very much the breakfast because of the nice environment.
Was staying in the Valencia several times when I was on business travel this time I was on PTO with my family.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback for your stay at Hotel Valencia Santana Row!

Cordially,
Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Location, style and service - I always have a great stay at the Hotel Valencia when in San Jose, and it's my preferred choice. I'm a business traveller and their are many leisure and food options right on your doorstep. The room is always clean and comfortable and I've had zero to complain about so far! Looking forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merrinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments! Please let me know if I may assist you during your future stays.

Cordially,
Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Perfect spot to celebrate a staycation. Very clean room and bathroom. The actual bath looked a bit dated, and the shower head wasn't great, but all in working order. We stayed in the back on the hotel in a corner room on the 7th floor. Perfect spot away from the noise from the bar that became quite a scene on Friday night! While the inclusive breakfast was a perk, it wasn't great. Why can't American hotels get breakfast right?

Room Tip: Room on the 7th floor in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lggirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback for your stay at Hotel Valencia. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

In addition the the complimentary Continental breakfast, we do offer an a la carte menu for breakfast. Can you share with me what specifically you are looking for in breakfast?

Cordially,
Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojo Caliente, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I frequently stay at Hotel Valencia Santana Row when traveling to San Jose for business. The rooms are nicely furnished and set up for business travelers (desk, wireless internet, plenty of outlets.) Internet and a very nice breakfast are included in the room rate. There is a small but adequate fitness center. Parking is easy and free if you self park - a recent upgrade is the ability to print out your parking pass before you arrive. I like being in Santana Row with plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance - including Valley Fair Mall. For me, the only downside of this hotel is that it is a very popular night spot and it can be noisy late at night.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for an upper floor that does not overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnj182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing you feedback on your experience at our hotel. The hotel is in a lively, urban location which can be a little noisy.

Cordially,

Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,170 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,287 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
942 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing