We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Ojo Caliente, New Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I frequently stay at Hotel Valencia Santana Row when traveling to San Jose for business. The rooms are nicely furnished and set up for business travelers (desk, wireless internet, plenty of outlets.) Internet and a very nice breakfast are included in the room rate. There is a small but adequate fitness center. Parking is easy and free if you self park - a recent upgrade is the ability to print out your parking pass before you arrive. I like being in Santana Row with plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance - including Valley Fair Mall. For me, the only downside of this hotel is that it is a very popular night spot and it can be noisy late at night.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for an upper floor that does not overlook the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnj182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing you feedback on your experience at our hotel. The hotel is in a lively, urban location which can be a little noisy.

Cordially,

Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    252
    95
    35
    36
See reviews for
111
196
32
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It is a great hotel with good rooms - especially the weekend rate is rather low for the region and the services. The design of rooms and hotel is nice. The rooms are in general very good - bits and pieces might be missed by the service.

Still I like the hotel, breakfast, and the location - good for exploring the bay area.

Bear in mind this is a business hotel and area. If you go to places in Santana Row you will find a lot of vendors taking their guest from abroad out ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelWinter952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience in staying at Hotel Valencia. We appreciate the positive feedback. We hope that if any time, we have a service failure, you will let us know at the time
or on our guest comment form emailed to you after your stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Cordially,
Bonnie Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After staying at the Hotel Valencia while on business in February of 2012 and being very impressed, I was certainly looking forward to a return visit in April of 2013 - with 7 others while on business. Unfortunately a lot changed in a year - and not for the better.
We came at a busier time of the year apparently - this was first noticed through the pricing of our hotel rooms - which followed a "demand-based pricing" system. In other words, despite having a corporate rate at the hotel, our group of 8 paid 3 different rates for the rooms due to how busy they were - and their ability to rent the room to someone else I guess. I suppose this might be normal business but given we were all traveling from the same company, it was certainly odd for us to be quoted rates that differed by more than 50%! Despite this pricing issue, we stuck with the hotel knowing the proximity to our business was good, the neighbourhood was great for restaurants and our experience with the hotel the previous year was strong. Needless to say, as the prices for our rooms skyrocketed, our expectations for our stay also went up.
Unfortunately our first morning was a big disappointment when there was no hot water for a shower. I'm sure as most travelers would appreciate, there are only a few critical things needed for your stay, and a hot shower to start the day would be one of them. One of our party contacted the front desk and learned that a bad windstorm apparently 'knocked over' or 'blew out' the main boiler on the roof. While I can appreciate that problems can occur, I believe strongly that the difference between an average hotel and a great one is how they handle these unforeseen circumstances. In the Hotel Valencia's case, they handled it by - doing nothing. No communication to guests explaining the problem, how it was rectified, when it might be fixed, etc. We weren't looking for any money back, or "something free' - just an official communication that explains why we had to endure such a bad start to our day. I have been in hotels where situations like this, or late night fire alarms, etc have occured and experienced how great hotels handle. Unfortunately the Hotel Valencia dropped the ball.
The rest of our stay was more uneventful thankfully - but the hotel seems a little older, a little darker, and a little more in need of some loving care.
Given our experience, we will try another property in the area the next time around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that our communication failed in regard to the rooftop boiler. Due to the extremely high velocity winds that occurred, the boiler flame was extinguished and the system locked down. The situation was rectified as soon as they were aware.

If you would like to correspondent with me directly @ bbest@valenciagroup.com, I can look into why your group paid different rates (other than a variation on the type of room confirmed).

We are in the process of finalizing a renovation plan which will start later this year which will "lighten" up the look of the hotel.

I am happy to assist you directly in making future reservations. We would like you to always have the experience you had on your first visit.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in March - decent hotel in a great location. Rooms are very comfortable, comfy bed and pillows and nicely appointed bathroom. Breakfast was good - great selection, hot and cold. The location really makes this hotel special - great shops, bars and boutiques right on your doorstep. I loved sitting on my balcony and people watching!
I would stay again, although staff service levels varied - room service, restaurant and valet staff were great, reception staff left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingachimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take seriously your comments regarding inconsistent service and will work hard to bring all service levels in line.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Bautista, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have a room booked for Sat night, I have not even stayed here yet but the customer service has been exceptional so far. I had a concern about my upcoming stay on Saturday night so I wrote an email and called to let them know my concern. Within 10 Mins they called me right back and emailed me and the problem was solved. Also, I was going to plan a large birthday party with their event coordinator, although the date I wanted to reserve and the room I wanted was unavailable, the lady was still very helpful and offered me many other suggestions and ideas. Hotel Valencia knows how to take care of its customers. I am excited for my stay on Saturday night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location!! Santana Row is right at your feet, you don't have to get on the freeway to get to HP Pavilion and San Jose Airport is a few miles away. Self Parking was FREE, located around the corner and easy to access. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the valet who opened the door for us. You need to take an elevator to get up to the lobby of the hotel. The front desk personnel was very friendly and informative. Our room was located on the 5th floor. Conveniently located by the fitness center and the pool. The rooms were very spacious and modern. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The only negative things is the slow flushing toilet and weak shower heads. The complimentary continental breakfast was pretty good for a free meal. It included cooked potatoes with onions and bell peppers, scrambled eggs, pork sausages and the normal continental breakfast staples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you return often.

Please let me know if I may ever assist in any way.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this is a very comfortable, posh hotel. Good points: stylish rooms, comfortable beds & pillows, pretty courtyard and pool areas, yummy & well stocked 'continental breakfast' (complete with hot dishes too), and great location as only decent hotel in or near Santana Row. Bad points: they gave away my pre-booked balcony room (likely to one of their loyalty club members), they charged over $300 per night (pretty exorbitant for a mid week stay) and the entrance I found was a bizarre, unmanned dark alcove with a few elevators (you take these up to a third floor where the lobby is). I had hoped they would make up for giving away my double deluxe balcony room by upgrading me to a suite. Sure they offered an Exec suite with one king bed plus a fold out sofa bed. Sorry, but those sofa beds and rollaway beds are about as comfortable as sleeping on a bed of concrete! How about a multi bed suite?! Or perhaps free dinner or drinks (or both) for me and my travel buddy? I expected more 'above and beyond' customer service for THEIR error, especially in this price point. Comfortable stay but disappointing value and customer service. Rates appear to go down by about $100 per night on a weekend...bizarre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LScott67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry that we did not have the bed type you requested available. As we only have 6 double/double balcony rooms, it is not always possible to meet all requests. We do not have any multi-bed suites -- all are king-bedded rooms.

As in all hotels (similar to airlines) rates vary by demand. Our peak demand is weekdays for corporate travelers.

Again, thank you for your feedback. Should you have an opportunity to return, I would be happy to assist you personally with your arrangements.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#48 of 75 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing