We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Weekend Get-Away / Stay-Cation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quick Weekend Get-Away / Stay-Cation”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location!! Santana Row is right at your feet, you don't have to get on the freeway to get to HP Pavilion and San Jose Airport is a few miles away. Self Parking was FREE, located around the corner and easy to access. Upon arrival, I was greeted by the valet who opened the door for us. You need to take an elevator to get up to the lobby of the hotel. The front desk personnel was very friendly and informative. Our room was located on the 5th floor. Conveniently located by the fitness center and the pool. The rooms were very spacious and modern. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The only negative things is the slow flushing toilet and weak shower heads. The complimentary continental breakfast was pretty good for a free meal. It included cooked potatoes with onions and bell peppers, scrambled eggs, pork sausages and the normal continental breakfast staples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you return often.

Please let me know if I may ever assist in any way.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    252
    95
    35
    36
See reviews for
111
196
32
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall, this is a very comfortable, posh hotel. Good points: stylish rooms, comfortable beds & pillows, pretty courtyard and pool areas, yummy & well stocked 'continental breakfast' (complete with hot dishes too), and great location as only decent hotel in or near Santana Row. Bad points: they gave away my pre-booked balcony room (likely to one of their loyalty club members), they charged over $300 per night (pretty exorbitant for a mid week stay) and the entrance I found was a bizarre, unmanned dark alcove with a few elevators (you take these up to a third floor where the lobby is). I had hoped they would make up for giving away my double deluxe balcony room by upgrading me to a suite. Sure they offered an Exec suite with one king bed plus a fold out sofa bed. Sorry, but those sofa beds and rollaway beds are about as comfortable as sleeping on a bed of concrete! How about a multi bed suite?! Or perhaps free dinner or drinks (or both) for me and my travel buddy? I expected more 'above and beyond' customer service for THEIR error, especially in this price point. Comfortable stay but disappointing value and customer service. Rates appear to go down by about $100 per night on a weekend...bizarre.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LScott67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry that we did not have the bed type you requested available. As we only have 6 double/double balcony rooms, it is not always possible to meet all requests. We do not have any multi-bed suites -- all are king-bedded rooms.

As in all hotels (similar to airlines) rates vary by demand. Our peak demand is weekdays for corporate travelers.

Again, thank you for your feedback. Should you have an opportunity to return, I would be happy to assist you personally with your arrangements.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I loved my stay here. The manager was very nice and treated us very well. The room was just a little outdated, but I would say that it is still far better than being anywhere else because of the location. I love just being able to walk out of the hotel and being right in front of all the nice shops and go shopping. The restaurants around there are not that great, but there are a few decent ones. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I loved the suites. Very spacious and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are happy to enjoy the hotel and the location.

We are currently in the final planning stages of a renovation which will certainly provide a fresh new look!

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here twice now, once in a double room and once in a Jr. Suite. It's a nice hotel, fancier than I usually stay in as it's out of my normal price range. I think you pretty much get your money's worth here. The idea of lodging in the middle of a mall is a bit weird to me, but the shopping is pretty dang convenient.

Major PROS:
free parking (although it's shared with the mall so if you come in the middle of the day the lots are pretty full)
fabulous continental breakfast
super friendly service
nice outside areas/pool
comfy beds
nice bathrooms

CONS:
night club downstairs (large crowds out front/share hotel elevator. hotel does a good job and keeping clubbers out of lobby, but it's inevitable that patrons of the hotel go down and club and bring the party back to their room)
hotel room doors/hallways are loud

If you've got money to burn or find a good deal (or better yet, get a comped room) go for it. Otherwise you might be able to find a better deal away from the "mall"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnettasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for providing constructive comments on your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback.

If I may ever assist you during a future stay, please let me know.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I might change my review after staying at this hotel, but the 4 people I encountered via phone just trying to make a reservation lead me to believe that this is not a "people-friendly" group of employees. It took me 3 calls and 4 people to get a reservation person that could link me to the group rate for my conference. After going through the "name, date, number of adults" interrogation, the first person said, "I can't find your group name here, so I'll need to transfer you." On hold for 4-5 minutes (that's a long time to be on hold), and then I went through the whole thing again, though this women did find my group and applied the group rate to the stay. NO ONE I spoke with was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I am very sorry to learn of the difficulty you had in making a reservation for your upcoming conference. I want to assure you that that we do value you as a guest. If you should need any assistance during your stay, please contact me either at Ext. 5404 in the hotel or by email bbest@valenciagroup.com.

If you would have interest in sharing with me the time and dates of your call so we can determine where additional training may be needed, that would be very useful.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went to visit family nearby for Easter, and loved the stay at Hotel Valencia, staff all welcoming and friendly, brought us a refrigerator for my wife's eye medicine. Walsking distrance to Santana Row restaurants, movie theatere etc.

Room Tip: Higher floors on South side are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heinz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay. We delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return often.

If at any time, I may be of assistance, please let me know.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I usually love Santana Row, however my stay this time left much to be desired. My husband and I spent my birthday weekend there, hoping for leisure time in the patio hot tub only to discover it was out of order. A wedding party was taking place, so we woke at 2:00 a.m. to screaming and yelling. I was waiting for gunfire to erupt. After a nice breakfast, we were ushered out after a fire alarm accidentally went off. And supposedly I was to receive a complimentary birthday gift that never arrived. Hmmm. I won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Figure out if you want to enjoy a sunset or have the intimacy of the courtyard. Noise is a big fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that your recent stay was marred by the closure of the hot tub and the rowdy guests. Both issues are being addressed.

Fire alarms are out of our control as the system works as it is designed to do. We certainly regret that it happened and disturbed you and our other guests.

I would wish that you would give us another opportunity to provide you with the stay you anticipated and would handle your arrangements personally.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#48 of 75 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing