We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location; clean but nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location; clean but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Located in the heart of Santana Row so that is good. Has a popular nightclub in the hotel that can be noisy for the interior rooms - not so good. Rooms are large, clean with nice bathroom decor and amenities. The staff is nice and the included breakfast is good, but get there early because they don't restock the muffins and donuts. My biggest complaint: the rooms are very dimly lit. It could be an energy efficiency issue to use low wattage bulbs, but our room seemed to have a dark mood with the low lighting, dark carpets, dark woodwork on the windows, dark cabinets, etc. If you need a good reading light bring your own!

Room Tip: Ask for an external facing room so you don't get the bar scene noise on Friday and Saturday nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    227
    88
    34
    32
See reviews for
96
175
29
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is very unique and botique. The staff is beyond friendly. The design touches are great. If you looked at the hotel squinting, it would look very high end. But a more detailed look shows you it's not an expensively done up hotel, but still nicely done for the budget they had. Valet parking can be a bit of a nightmare if they have an event going on, which is frustrating, but other than that is was great. They do a good free breakfast in the morning. It's great having Santana Row shopping and restaurants right out the door. Shops are open until 9pm!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've been to this hotel on three separate occassions and the experience was great all three times. The ambience, staff, rooms and service was amazing. It is well located and close by to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is the second time I stay at this hotel and it does not dissappoint. The rooms are very well appointed and the area is by far the best in San Jose. The Santana Row district is fantastic. We were there for business but the hotel is very chic and the service is fantastic. I would recommend it for anyone that has to be in the San Jose area. Shopping and dining in Santana Row is great

Room Tip: Ask for any room that ends in 00 , 400, 500 , 600 long foyer hallway and balcony view to Santana Row
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Valencia is one of our favorite places to stay when we do an overnight in San Jose. It is right in the middle of Santana Row, a very hip and cool shopping and dining scene in San Jose. It is also located within walking distance from Valley Fair Mall. The service is excellent, the rooms are well designed and modern with nice amenities. The bar is THE place on a weekend night and my wife says the spa is excellent. Stay here and eat at Sino, Casa Consuelo, or Thea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've been a regular visitor to the Valencia over the last several years while traveling on business. I'm not a huge fan of the Santana Row area however compared to the rest of San Jose, at least there is something to do and a few restaurant choices.

With respect to the Valencia itself, the hotel decor is modern but dark (dark woods, dim lights, dark carpets). Generally speaking the hotel is obviously high traffic and shows some wear but is well maintained. Lighting in the rooms is dim but work areas and bedside lamps have bright enough lights to read/work by. Standard rooms are relatively spacious. If you are unlucky and get a lower floor room in the wrong place, it can get a bit noisy on Thursday and Friday nights. Generally speaking though, this is just a bit of bad luck.

Hotel staff are helpful and courteous. As a regular visitor, they generally remember me by name which is a nice touch. Breakfast is excellent with a modest amount of variety. The coffee is good but not great. An extremely nice touch is having good newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal) available every day.

I basically have two things about the hotel that bug me. One is the lighting in the restaurant. It's so dim that it is impossible to read in there unless you get one of the two or three tables which have a light fixture directly over them. There is no reason to have crappy lighting at breakfast. The second is parking. Unless you valet, you're basically on your own to find parking in one of the three Santana Row parking areas. That starts getting sketchy on Wednesday night and can be impossible on Thursday/Friday nights.

Complaints aside, the Valencia is always my first choice when I go to San Jose.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floor rooms facing Santana Row. Avoid low floor rooms on the interior. The courtyard c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Considering the location, we had a large suite! We received VIP treatment every step of the way. The weekend night club didn't disturb us at all. It was an overall great value. I'm looking forward to my next trip to the area, I'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Fairmont San Jose
The Fairmont San Jose
#10 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 1,876 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#12 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
3.3 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#6 of 74 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#34 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites guest to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing