We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for younger kids”

Happy Hollow Park and Zoo
Ranked #9 of 137 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Happy Hollow Park & Zoo in San Jose has been a part of Bay Area families since it opened its’ gates in 1961. It’s a unique combination of family rides, amusements, a Puppet Theater, play areas and an accredited Zoo with over 140 animals, from endangered lemurs to miniature horses. Year round classes are offered for ages 12 months to adults as well as special events for all seasons. Happy Hollow Park & Zoo offers yearly Memberships for families and individuals.
california
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for younger kids”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a little tiny zoo and amusement park for children under 8 years old. It's small-time but can be a lot of fun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mkj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    141
    39
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Refreshed park is great for toddlers and small children!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We recently took our 2-year old grandson to Happy Hollow for A 1/2 day visit. The park has been renovated and I hardly recognized it - updated and really clean. Bathrooms were very nice. The petting zoo was fun, although the goats were already full of pellets by noon. They have zoo animals, a carousel with beautiful animals, small rides and of course, the puppet show. The crooked house has even had a makeover! We picnicked outside the park in Kelley Park, which surrounds Happy Hollow, but you can bring your lunch into the park also. You can also purchase food there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SJscrapbooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place for the little ones!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My 1 1/2 year old and I spent the day here and he loved it. There were plenty of rides and things to do for little kids. He loved the puppet shows and the carousel. When we came out of the zoo we just spent some time walking around the park outside the zoo until he was ready to go home. I would highly recommend visiting this zoo if you have toddlers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“so much fun for the little ones”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wow, it sounds great. What did you like about it? visited with my 4 year old niece & nephew on a sunny sunday in january. They loved it as did my mom & sister. The park has been renovated & is so much for this age group. definitely recommend for a visit to san jose any little ones in the group will not forget the wonderful experience

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank obdocSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not quite like I remember”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Cute park for kids to play in, just not quite what I remember from my childhood. They have been working on re doing things, not sure how much more they have to go. I remember it having more of a whimsical feel to it. There is a zoo, petting zoo, carousel, small rides, playground and park area to roam in. Disappointed that Danny the dragon train ride was not running as this is the main ride, hope they get it running soon. The Danny the Dragon mascot they have now is a bit intimidating, kinda scary for small kids :) still a good place to go and have fun

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Hollow Park and Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Happy Hollow Park and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing