We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for kids!”

Happy Hollow Park and Zoo
Ranked #9 of 137 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Happy Hollow Park & Zoo in San Jose has been a part of Bay Area families since it opened its’ gates in 1961. It’s a unique combination of family rides, amusements, a Puppet Theater, play areas and an accredited Zoo with over 140 animals, from endangered lemurs to miniature horses. Year round classes are offered for ages 12 months to adults as well as special events for all seasons. Happy Hollow Park & Zoo offers yearly Memberships for families and individuals.
Los Gatos, California, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“great for kids!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have taken my grandchildren, ages 3, 5, and 8 and they have all loved it! Last year, the little ones were scared on the Frog Hopper and this year we could not get them off of it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    141
    39
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Hollow Park”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

They have remodeled the place and looks Great. All the rides are working. Not to mention the dragon ride that was also fun for kids. The scenery for the ride was nice and furnished for the kids and everyone to see..The Staff was nice and friendly. The food place was good. I would definitely go back just to walk around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HWNGRL808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Happy Hollow Zoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are looking for a fun time with the young kids this is perfect. Lots of the normal zoo inhabitants. Several good play sites and rides. Food is available, but a picnic lunch on the lawn is a great alternative. Parking is not a problem, just need to pay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank retiredinflorida11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great kid friendly activity”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a full day trip for our family (including 89 years old great grandma) and we were not disappointed. The boys (twin 5yr old) ran and played all day. There is a lot of walking but the zoo does not disappoint. The rides a kid friendly (visit their online website for pic's) and play areas that they will enjoy completely. There is food on site and no too expensive. Restrooms were clean and placed through out the park. This is a full day event, take sun screen and good walking shoes and enjoy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cheridiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Place”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Have taken the children there several times over past year. They have done a wonderful job with the rebuilding of HH. They managed to keep the old favorites and add wonderful new spots for the kids. My grandkids love it, as did my children. We'll be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandisea63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Hollow Park and Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Happy Hollow Park and Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing