We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some of the other reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2007

I stayed at the Best Western Lanai Gardens Inn twice in a weeks time. I flew into San Jose on a week long California motorcycle vacation and stayed there on my arrival night and the night before my departure. I found the location to be adequate, close to hwy 101 and close to restaurants and shopping.
The front desk clerk was nice and helpful. I had rented a BMW motorcycle for my tour and was concerned about being in a nice neighborhood and parking my rental bike, etc. The clerk said it would be ok to park right out front in the 15 min parking within sight of the front door. I arrived early around noon and the front desk clerk said she had a room she could put me in. The room was clean and comfortable, with a fridge and microwave. The room was very inexpensive, i think I paid $71/night.
There were some families staying there and a bunch of kids making noise and playing in the pool but what can you expect, just kids having fun. Things settled down later in the evening and it was nice and quiet. I was trying to save some money and the fridge and microwave came in handy. I went a few blocks down Tully rd. and found a grocery store and purchased some micro meals for dinner.
Not too exciting but being on a budget it was very helpful. The breakfast was ok, cereal, waffles, juice, coffee, yogurt, pastries, etc. Overall, a nice inexpensive place to stay if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UGA_guy_Athens_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

We're delighted you had such a wonderful experience with us! It's so nice to know you enjoyed a clean, comfortable room, and great food for breakfast! Thank you so much for your compliments to our staff's customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 212 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2006

Enjoyed staying at this property during a week long stay in the San Jose area. The staff were very helpful at check in and provided insightful local information, noting that I had flown in from Florida. The free wireless access provided by the computers in the breakfast area were a plus. The rooms were clean and spacious. The furniture and fixtures all worked and were in excellent condition. Housekeeping was excellent during our stay considering we were travelling with small children and the mess they make. The breakfast host was quick to met our needs in the morning by providing us with freah fruit for the kids. The only downside was the lack of visibility from the freeway and getting to the property during rush hour traffic. Once we found the property we were all set.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank orange123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

I am glad that you get to enjoy our full hot breakfast in the morning and complimentary high speed internet. Please do choose us again when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Stockton, CA
213
Reviewed May 20, 2005

While this is not a "fancy" hotel, by any means...it is definately a good value for the price, and the facilities are very modern and clean. This is why I rated this hotel "above average". My daughter is a competitive figure skater, and we were in San Jose for a big competition last weekend. I had gone online to book the room a few weeks in advance, and got a very good deal on it. We had already stayed there a few years prior, and found it to be very clean and comfortable and close access to the rink where she was skating. So I was happy to find that the rooms were still available at a good rate, and therefore booked it immediately. We arrived around dinner hour, and checked in with no trouble. We went immediately up to our room, and found it was almost even tidier than I had recalled. The bathrooms in this hotel are particularly clean and new, I'm almost wonding if they haven't been recently remodeled. Anyway, we were only there one night, but it was very pleasant. The hotel was quiet, with the exception of some very rude guests who were occupying the room directly across from ours, that decided it would be a good idea to stand directly in front of our door and have a loud conversation in spanish at 1:00 a.m.. Fortunately, they must've heard me crashing around in the bathroom in disgust, and figured they better take it inside. The rest of the night was no problem, and this was certainly no reflection on the hotel itself or the staff in any way. We did however, encounter these very same rude people the following morning in the breakfast area...and their obtrusiveness didn't cease. Although the breakfast spread itself was quite enjoyable, unfortunately this rather large group of extrememly uncivilized hotel guests made it somewhat difficult to appreciate. We packed our bags and shot out out of there as fast as we could, once we'd eaten our breakfast. Other than that, I'd have to give this hotel a big recommendation. I will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review us. Please do come visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2004

Convenient to the fairgrounds 10 minutes south of downtown San Jose. Layout is two stories, each with one linear hallway. The building ends in a pie shape to accommodate the freeway onramp. The outdoor pool is shaped like a pie section for the same reason. This is a refurbished older style motel. Cookies are available in the evening, and an extensive continental breakfast is set out by 5:30am. Rooms are average for the price, but the closet is tiny. Free high speed internet access in the rooms - you supply the cable. Two computers are available in the breakfast room for guest use. Rooms are reasonably quiet considering the location next to the freeway onramp. Close by dining choices are Denny's and Chucky Cheese.

4  Thank tcox13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you here next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank livia941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
318 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
5.3 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
68 reviews
7.1 mi away
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
#36 of 75 in San Jose
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites

Address: 1575 Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95122-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $125 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern California from this comfortable and convenient San Jose hotel, located just minutes from popular attractions like HP Pavilion and the Winchester Mystery House.Located just off Highway 101, the BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites makes it easy to explore the bustling city of San Jose and surrounding areas. Cheer on the San Jose Sharks at the nearby HP Pavilion or enjoy the oddities of the world-famous Winchester Mystery House. Families staying at this Northern California hotel can get their thrills at Raging Waters Water Park or California's Great America Amusement Park, or make a day of visiting San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge, Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. There are also an abundance of dining and shopping options, like the East Ridge Mall, within minutes of the property. Also known as the Capitol of Silicon Valley, San Jose is home to many tech and manufacturing giants, including IBM, Google, Facebook, Cisco, GE, NASA and Ericsson, Inc. Our business guests appreciate the close proximity to these and other area attractions, like San Jose State University, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and the San Jose Fairgrounds. Just eight miles from the San Jose International Airport, it's easy to come and go from this San Jose hotel. The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites offers the friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations guests have come to expect from Best Western. This San Jose hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast featuring fresh Belgian waffles, before enjoying an array of amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool and a business center.The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanai Garden Hotel San Jose
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing