We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #28 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our families booked 5 rooms in mid-June for a funeral of an immediete family. Some of us were staying here for a week before the actual funeral.

The night before the actual funeral, the relative tried to enter the room, but it was occupied by another guest! We asked where our belongings are, and they said that they entered an empty room.

Long behold,. the hotel gathered our personal belongings without our permission and put it on a rolling rack. Even an undergarmet was hanging off the rail. Belongings was shoved in a boxes. Old clothes was combined with new clothes (even outfit to the funeral) This MOtel have no compassion or customer service.

When talking to the Service Desk Manager (Tuan), he did not admit his faults, blamed us for the mishap, didn't want to comp us, or even try to make things right. He was able to comp us (20%) which was still 98.00 a night, which is over-priced for this place. In addition, alarm clocks and fridges did not work in our other rooms.


I don't reccomend this hotel even with Free wifi and breakfast because they will treat you like trash(literally). - Pictures to prove.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel. You will be extemely sorry. I would reccomend any other otels other than Bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilip H, General Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

There was a misunderstanding on their reservations. I apologized and mentioned that this normally does not occur. Their belongings were stored in a secure location. For better guest relations, the guest was given two complimentary rooms for two nights for a total of four free nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

So unhappy when we first got there. They were paving the parking lot, so there were only 7 spots to park. The road access to the hotel was busy it took 10 minutes till we could even pull in. The stores near by looked dirty and shady. When we got inside the front desk guy looked like he was playing on the computer. When we got to our room there was human hair all over the bed, the menus were sticky and the bath room made me feel uncompterable. At 4am the people next door were so load we couldnt sleep. I will never be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights this past weekend. As BW Platinum members, we were upgraded to a whirlpool suite-nice touch as there is no jacuzzi on the premises(nor exercise room).
Staff at check in and out was friendly and thorough.
Our suite was fine-a bit dated, but met our needs. We wanted a few extra towels for the jacuzzi, but had to give two used towels back to them in advance. I would think in a jacuzzi suite, a few more towels would be left for its use. One irritation we encountered was the fact that there is only one ice machine in the hotel(down off the lobby) which makes for a pain in you are on the second floor at the other end of the building(we were, of course).
the breakfast was adequate-nothing great-hours could be better(bit later) especially on weekends(6:30-9:30).
We didn't encounter any noise inside or outside of hotel and we did stay on the street side. That wasn't a problem. What was is, as stated before, is how to get into the hotel parking lot. if you miss lanai, you will either head onto 101 N or onto overpass continuing on Tully. There is no easy way back as this area seems to be in perpetual construction. it will take at least 20 minutes to return to the hotel-lots of traffic.
We would stay again if we got upgraded but would also look for hotels closer to downtown and SJSU( 4 miles away)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had a king reserved for $89, but when we arrived at 10 am our room wasn't ready--no surprise--and we were offered a mini-suite for $99. It was a small bedroom with a king size bed, and an adjacent area, set off by a divider, with a sofa-bed and a writing table. All very comfortable.

The wi-fi worked well, and there was an unheated pool that we didn't use in January. The continental breakfast included juices, apples, bananas, coffee, decaf, breads and sweet rolls, waffle batter and waffle iron, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and dry cereal with skim milk and 2%. Not fancy but something healthy for any diet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was an unintended stop as we were meant to be heading straight through to Monterey but were just too tired.
We figured that a Best Western would be a pretty safe bet, unloaded the car and walked straight in. The receptionist was obviously ill and just didn't want to be there. We wanted a non smoking basic room but were told all they had to offer was $150 with tax king size suite. We were a bit annoyed as we really didn't want to spend that much and when we walked in, it was ridiculously big.
The room looked clean, bed was huge but very comfy, basic shower and bath. I did get a fright when I spotted a cockroach watching me in the bathroom..
Breakfast was the usual fare, got us through the day.
I wouldn't actively seek to spend the night here, it's ok for 1 night but never would I spend a vacation here. We eventually moved onto Santa Cruz and got a much better room at a Best Western for $50 cheaper so in no way do I think this place is good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindseyr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My family stayed at this hotel for one evening. We arrived at about 2:30 pm and were provided a room. Upon entering the room, the bed looked almost made. It looked a bit odd....then we turned around and saw there was food left behind from the previous folks. At that point we knew it hadn't been cleaned yet. The front desk checked their paperwork which said the room had been cleaned. We told them we'd fill our time at the pool for a while to let them clean up. We were out there for about an hour. (The pool is not heated and was likely about 50 degrees or so. The kids jumped in and out about three times each.) We returned to the room after about an hour and it had still not been cleaned. At that time we also questioned the size of the room. We had paid for a "King Suite" on line. The room we were offered was a "King room". When we returned to the front desk, the swing shift clerk had arrived and mentioned that the room had not yet been cleaned. He checked the paperwork, said it shows it had been cleaned. We assured him it still wasn't. My wife then said that if he wanted to provide us with an upgrade, we were okay with that. He did so, but upon entering the room, we discovered that the room seemed more of what we were expecting to begin with. There may be one category higher, but it wasn't clear. It's next to the highway, so you do hear the car noise, but it wasn't really all that bad. The bed was not bad, not great. The sofabed felt terrible, but the kids never seem to mind much. The bathroom was clean. The breakfast was as indicated. Hard boiled eggs were a nice touch to slice on a bagel or toast. Kids had waffles. For quick access to the freeway, this is a good bet. Overall, this place is okay and likely sufficient for the lone business traveler. Certainly not the place to take your wife on a date night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North/West side face the residential neighborhood rather than the traffic side. Be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToTheT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Well I guess we should've read the reviews more thoroughly before booking here. Seeing the structure from afar is easy, but if you're heading SW on Tully Rd, you HAVE to turn right onto Lanai Ave to access its parking lot, otherwise you'll miss it and be forced to go onto 101 north! What a drag!

Room was typical for a motel, stuffy and looked a bit beat up.

Pool was actually very clean, water was cold but oh well.

What really struck me about this location is the staff. Oh man, the two that I interacted with were NOT friendly, definitely appeared to HATE their jobs, and certainly can use some customer service training.

They don't greet you, they don't seem to even want to look at you, they do not dress proffessionally, they sounded rude upon answering the phone, etc.

This BW location is also lame. They have free wi-fi but they dont tell you about it, don't give you the code unless you call the front desk and ask. Then when you do, the guy at the front desk is rude to you, speaks out the the wi-fi code really quick then hangs up on you, doesnt give you a chance to confrm. Room as hardwire internet but they dont supply a cat5 cable.

Lastly, I used credit card points to book this room. When I checked in, they wanted my CC to swipe as a "hold" for incidentals. This is std practice, so all good. When using points for rooms, I, upon checking out, like to confirm with that I'm done and out, so I like to get a final check-out, hardcopy printout as a way to ensure my CC is clear. This way they don't charge bogus charges onto my CC later. I've always done this, never an issue in the past.

Well, the front desk guy here adamently REFUSED to print me one. He kept saying that I don't need it; that it was prepaid so he CAN'T give me a print out; that I should get it from whoever I booked the room through. Lame. Trying to save on ink toner and paper that bad huh?

This BW location, NOT recommneded.

Room Tip: Inexpensive but don't expect much frm staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tri24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
5.3 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
68 reviews
7.1 mi away
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
Quality Inn Silicon Valley
#36 of 75 in San Jose
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites

Address: 1575 Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95122-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: $125 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern California from this comfortable and convenient San Jose hotel, located just minutes from popular attractions like HP Pavilion and the Winchester Mystery House.Located just off Highway 101, the BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites makes it easy to explore the bustling city of San Jose and surrounding areas. Cheer on the San Jose Sharks at the nearby HP Pavilion or enjoy the oddities of the world-famous Winchester Mystery House. Families staying at this Northern California hotel can get their thrills at Raging Waters Water Park or California's Great America Amusement Park, or make a day of visiting San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge, Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. There are also an abundance of dining and shopping options, like the East Ridge Mall, within minutes of the property. Also known as the Capitol of Silicon Valley, San Jose is home to many tech and manufacturing giants, including IBM, Google, Facebook, Cisco, GE, NASA and Ericsson, Inc. Our business guests appreciate the close proximity to these and other area attractions, like San Jose State University, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and the San Jose Fairgrounds. Just eight miles from the San Jose International Airport, it's easy to come and go from this San Jose hotel. The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites offers the friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations guests have come to expect from Best Western. This San Jose hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast featuring fresh Belgian waffles, before enjoying an array of amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool and a business center.The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanai Garden Hotel San Jose
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing