We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad for a night”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a pretty basic BW hotel. It's located RIGHT next to the 101. The free breakfast and micro/fridge in the room was a nice perk. The staff was great during check in and check out. The room was clean and the beds were OK. I would not use this hotel if I was sightseeing as it is a few miles from downtown. A cab ride was $20 from the hotel to HP Pavilion. For an overnight stay, the hotel is a nice clean place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMike5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
64
32
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Hotel is right at 101, and the entrance is difficult: you have to pass it, make a U turn, then turn down a side street. Check in was ok, sterile lobby. Rooms were comfortable, beds good. No fan in the bathroom leaves the mirrors fogged up.

The free breakfast is very limited: no fruit, no meat, but do have waffles, yogurt, cereals, and scrambled eggs.

The "business center" consists of a computer in the corner of the breakfast room. The Wi-Fi worked well.

This is a basic place to spend the night, with no frills, but safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The room was clean but they need to make the shower curtain longer so that water won't splash into the bathroom floor. Towels should be more absorbent and pillows should be 2 for each occupant of 4. The complimentary breakfast is good though.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GhenTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

After flying across the country my Husband and I just wanted a quick nice place to stay the first night of our honeymoon.

The staff was great and the room was clean. We got the room with the two person whirlpool tub which was very relaxing after a stressfull day.

The hotel staff had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Convience to the airport and quality for price
  • Disliked — Was not in the best neighbourhood
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2017
Thank you for sharing your experience!!! I am glad you get to enjoy the complimentary wine and the nice 2 persons Jacuzzi. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

I stayed 3 nights in this Best Western while on business in the San Jose area, including a run up to San Francisco. I would rate it as an above average motel stay. I was allowed to check in at noon, a real positive. My room was in good shape, plenty large enough, although just starting to show some furniture wear and tear. Additionally, it included a refrigerator and microwave. Internet access was secured wireless and included with the room. Continental breakfast was serviceable, attractively laid out, and even included boiled eggs one morning and fresh baked cookies one evening. For this area of California the price was very economical. Getting into the place is a bit odd, since you must enter through another business's parking lot off a side street, but that actually made it easier to get in and out. There aren't a lot of places to eat nearby, however San Jose is not exactly noted for dining opportunities so that's hardly surprising. For my purposes, I found it to be nicely located just off of 101, and convenient to the airport as well. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — easy access
  • Disliked — area restaurants
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JAXers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2017
Thank you for taking your time to give us a positive review. We do try our best to get our guest check in as earliest as possible because we understand that you are tired from traveling. One thing you did missed during your stay was the many local chains and local restaurants that are within walking distance. Please do visit us again in the near future next time and will provide the restaurants listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2008

When I arrived at the hotel I was shocked that you had to drive through an adjacent parking lot of other businesses to get to the hotel. This made us uncomfortable because of the environment that hung out in the parking lot.

Also the hotel is located lateral to an on ramp to the freeway, which was very noisy. On our first night there after returning from a late supper my husband and some friends witnessed an employee of the hotel urinating on the lawn in front of the hotel in a corner. To our disbelief he made no effort to cease with his actions. I complained to the hotel and was told the day manager would contact me, he never did.

Needless, to say I think this hotel will be one I remove from my list when visiting the San Jose area again. On a positive note the room was clean.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank busycaligal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

I have been staying at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn and Suites for one week. The room was just ok, but the price is quite convenient. It's located 10 min far from San Jose downtown and just right the HW101. However the room I had was pretty quite and clean. I had some problems in finding the entrance since I thought to find it on Tully road (as this was its address) whereas it was on the street just before the entrance of the highway. The web access is wired so, if you need it, make sure to have with you a network cable. I would suggest to stay there if you want a clean and cheap room and if you are not too fussy (it is not a four star hotel).

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 23, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and taking you time to give us a review. I apologized for hard to find entrance. Due to the location of the freeway, we can't have the entrance on Tully road. We do offer high speed internet on Wi-Fi also. Please do come to visit us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#12 of 75 in San Jose
296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#30 of 75 in San Jose
106 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,292 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Address: 1575 Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95122-2459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern California from this comfortable and convenient San Jose hotel, located just minutes from popular attractions like HP Pavilion and the Winchester Mystery House.Located just off Highway 101, the BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites makes it easy to explore the bustling city of San Jose and surrounding areas. Cheer on the San Jose Sharks at the nearby HP Pavilion or enjoy the oddities of the world-famous Winchester Mystery House. Families staying at this Northern California hotel can get their thrills at Raging Waters Water Park or California's Great America Amusement Park, or make a day of visiting San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge, Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. There are also an abundance of dining and shopping options, like the East Ridge Mall, within minutes of the property. Also known as the Capitol of Silicon Valley, San Jose is home to many tech and manufacturing giants, including IBM, Google, Facebook, Cisco, GE, NASA and Ericsson, Inc. Our business guests appreciate the close proximity to these and other area attractions, like San Jose State University, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and the San Jose Fairgrounds. Just eight miles from the San Jose International Airport, it's easy to come and go from this San Jose hotel. The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites offers the friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations guests have come to expect from Best Western. This San Jose hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast featuring fresh Belgian waffles, before enjoying an array of amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool and a business center.The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanai Garden Hotel San Jose
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing