We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get Your BBQ on Here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoking Pig BBQ Company

Smoking Pig BBQ Company
Ranked #4 of 2,142 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a very casual BBQ "joint" in the traditional sense. The focus is on the food. Slow smoked meats, homemade sides, rubs, sauces and desserts. Friendly service, at home feel. Excellent beer and wine lists (no kidding). Genuine Southern BBQ. Everything made in-house. Our mission is your delight. We Cater too! 25 to 5000 people.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Get Your BBQ on Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Okay; any place with the nerve to serve "WolfeTurds" is on my fine BBQ list. Right after you finish the "Turds" have the "Tips" and the the "Brisket Sammy" with the Mac-n-Cheese side and a cornbread muff. Yeah that's what I'm taken about. Finger and forearm lick'n gooood!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valhala95014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    135
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Friendly place with good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly greeted when we entered, and were checked on several times while we ate. We ate brisket, Mac and cheese, and the greens were delicious! I heard a waitress say their policy was if you don't like it they take it back. Great place near the airport!

Helpful?
Thank GrammyBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place for Barbecue & Blues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The owner / Chef is friendly, the service is fast, and the food is great. What's more, I enjoyed the Blues music, both recorded and live that plays there. Don't go there thinking it's a big, fancy / well decorated restaurant or you'll be disappointed. Go for down home Barbecue & Blues and you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Since moving to the Bay Area I've been looking for a BBQ place that at least compares to Phil's BBQ in San Diego. Much to my dismay, the few I have tried have not been up to par.

Smoking Pig did very well. My family and I ate dinner here after a day at the Kids Discovery Museum in San Jose.

While not "the best", it was darn tasty! The meat was cooked to perfection. I also like the fact when you order the brisket you get to choose fatty or lean. I chose the brisket and rib platter. More than enough food, and I'm a large guy! The BBQ sauces were interesting as well.

For appetizer we tried the Potato Grenade. What an awesome piece of perfection! The potato had a beautiful, smoky flavor. Then the mac n cheese and stuffed jalepeno inside! What a combination of flavors! Definitely getting this bad boy again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vipervick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Super casual but delicious BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I wouldn't say it's the best BBQ I've ever had, but I think it is the best in San Jose. It's definitely not healthy (appetizers especially!) but the pulled pork is good. Come early-- they run out quickly on weekend nights. There's often a wait out the door, and we've waited for 45 minutes to an hour before. You can also get food as take-out.

Inside, it's nothing fancy- folding chairs and super packed. There's often live music too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KEMP527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoking Pig BBQ Company also viewed

 

Been to Smoking Pig BBQ Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing