We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst bbq place i have ever been” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoking Pig BBQ Company

Smoking Pig BBQ Company
Ranked #4 of 2,143 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a very casual BBQ "joint" in the traditional sense. The focus is on the food. Slow smoked meats, homemade sides, rubs, sauces and desserts. Friendly service, at home feel. Excellent beer and wine lists (no kidding). Genuine Southern BBQ. Everything made in-house. Our mission is your delight. We Cater too! 25 to 5000 people.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worst bbq place i have ever been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

went with friends, tonight. had notice the restaurant, last night riding bikes. decided i had to give this place a try. friends leaving out of town, so 4 of us went. left me start off my saying, the waitress was horrible, and not accomidating. as we had just start to eat are meal, she comes over and says, are you guys gonna order anything else or desert, the kitchen is closing and i have to get your order in. the lights were still on and door had not been locked. she brings, soda to the table and it is flat, call here over and she says, i new it was flat they were having problems with the carbonation, had to ask here to exchange it, she brought over hot cokes in a can, not the pepsi she had brought over first in paper cups. plastics utensils, in a cup at the table for silverware on a metal pan. food out of all appitizers, also out of most of the food on the menu. this is a pig place and not ribs or pulled pork. beans, were doctor up pork in beans from a can. my advice, stay away and long long wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fastvrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    136
    34
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Very Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place has really taken off since I first started eating here. I usually order the chicken. However, some times they run out of chicken. They use a real smoker, not like those phony chain bbq places. I won't mention any names. Also, the corn bread's pretty good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJSilberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“OK BBQ.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The title best describes it. It was OK at best. Nothing to write home about. The pork was on the dry side, the brisket was almost dry, and the chicken was OK. The garlic mashed potatoes were definitely garlic!

The food was served on a metal baking sheet. You eat with plasticware rather than silverware. The place was noisy and very "low class" as for a restaurant.

I will bypass this place in the future in favor of Andy's BBQ where the meal is huge and yummy. Sorry Pig, but you are no where near the best BBQ in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
422 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Enjoy the food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ohhh - I wanted to go 4 stars or more, here. The food was EXCELLENT - way better than the chains. Unlike their competition, the sides were just as good as the meat. Let's do the details -
SpareRibs - nicely done, nicely seasoned, good portion. Good smoke!
Brisket - got the 'fatty brisket', it was perfect - you want the fat, so it doesn't get dry or tough!
Pulled Pork - Ordered 3, got one - they ran out in the kitchen. The one said it was very good, but since I wasn't that one... No comment.
Louisiana Hot Link - Sold out.
(By the way, we got there at 6.30 Sunday night. Restaurant was full, but no wait. Can't figure out why so much was sold out.)
Cole Slaw - Fresh, excellent taste!
Potato Salad - FRESH! Very nice, not your typical Costco mayo pile.
Mac & Cheese - Don't know - the guy who ordered it ate it so fast I couldn't get a bite!
Wolf Turds - Unique. :^) (check it out!)
Potato Grenade - (Baked potato stuffed with a wolf turd and wrapped in bacon, then smoked) YUM!

Service - Our waitress was personable, helpful, and knew everything. But she wasn't getting any help from the back - she didn't find out what they were out of, until we'd ordered. Disappointment. Then the substitutions for the pulled pork were screwed up. Hate to be harsh, but they need to straighten things out in back and get the communications clear!

BEER - After the meat, this is the most important thing, right? The beer list gets one star - 2 entries. But on balance, they get 5 stars for BEER - why? Because one of those two choices is a reasonably priced Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA!! (Should serve this in a glass, folks - it's like serving single malt scotch in a dixie cup!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Smoking Pig BBQ Company, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi David,

We run out because it's barbque and takes many hours to cook. When we get wiped out, there's no recovery. I'm sorry you hit us at a time when we were trying to recover. It happens. Some places just shut down when they're out. We try to keep going.

Our beer list has over 20 craft and local beers on it. It's right inside the menu. Not sure what you meant by 'two selections'.

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Q!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I just returned from Smoking Pig I was referred there by the shuttle driver at the hotel I am staying at. I had the ribs, bacon wrapped chicken, brisket and Hot sausage sides were greens and cornbread. I had just arrived after long flight from the east coast and was hungry! Restaurant was pleasant very nice staff. When the food arrived which was quick it came on a metal tray Rib's were tender but room temperature not hot or even warm. Definitely needed to be served hotter same thing with all the meat. It was lunch time restaurant was crowded so don't know what the deal was with that.spent 28.00 Cornbread was good. Please put some heat on the meat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aabbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoking Pig BBQ Company also viewed

 

Been to Smoking Pig BBQ Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing