We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Front Desk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rose Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rose Garden
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    63
    43
    48
    62
See reviews for
79
36
27
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
PORTLAND
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was so disappointed by our stay. From the moment I stepped into the lobby I was thinking it was a mistake to stay there. The staff was incredibly rude, making check in painful and frustrating. They didnt improve throughout the visit. Everything at this hotel that could be a little off certainly was. The pool was freezing, making it impossible for the kids to swim (a huge disappointment as they loved the super 8 pool up in Vancouver), the bathroom out of order, parking a nightmare, and breakfast lacking in every way. I have enjoyed Super 8 hotels previously, but Im not sure if I would do it again after this trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank ERIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great little spot in San Jose. It is a court yard style two story hotel with a pool in the middle. The doors all face the court yard. Nice tall palms, well maintained bushes, pool area was clean and tidy. The room was neat and clean with one of my favorite features, a separate bathroom and vanity area so one person can be in the bathroom and another getting ready. Comfortable beds, adequate HVAC that was fairly quiet.

The only gripes I have area fairly minor but can be easily rectified, the vending machines were not well stocked, the staff are not friendly, the breakfast buffet was just boring pastries, toast, two cereals, coffee and juice. Also, we had a visitor a few times during our visit, seems an opossum lives at the property as well, he/she passed by our room from time to time.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have a lot of luggage, grab a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

If I could rate this place a 1/2 star I would. The only good thing about the ENTIRE place was the pool and lack of guests. THe lack of guests must have been due to the terrible room accomodations. It was dirts, the walls were paper thin and it stunk. When we pulled up to the hotel there were police cars there and caution tape was taped around a room. I would not have stayed here if we hadnt already paid and couldn't get a refund. We were in town to see Nickelback at the HP Pavillion. Never EVER will I stay at a Super 8. EWWWW.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Lake Hughes, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I like the general location of the this hotel, its only a short drive to down town S.J. where the night life is great. As far as the hotel itself, I like that each room I have stayed in is very large. I always come back to this super 8 whenever I'm working in San Jose. The staff is are good people, especially Avez who works behind the counter and was very helpful. The rooms have always seemed clean in my opinion and i would say its definitely one of the better super 8's Ive stayed in. Im always on the road on business and constantly staying at this chain so this hotel in particular is definitely one of the better super 8's. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Super 8 Motel located at 1860 The Alameda in San Jose CA is a quaint and in-expensive place to stay. The convenience of a Mexican restaurant attached to the Motel makes your stay pleasurable and easy, especially if there is a family with children. Jeff the present Manager is most amiable and helpful in every way. It is small warm and makes you fell at home.
Thank You Jeff, I will always return.
Dr. SallyAnna Sargent

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyAnna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked anonymously last minute on hotwire and checked in around midnight. We needed an inexpensive place around San Jose, nothing fancy, just a basic, clean room for the night. Our impressions:

- FILTHY: Our "non-smoking room" stank like a bar and had cig burns in the comforter. The bedding and towels also reeked, we had to use our t shirts as pillow cases. My white socks were showing dirt just from walking on the carpet. I'd hate to see what a blacklight would reveal.

- UNSAFE: I know prostitutes when I see them, and there were a few working the parking lot. And some dudes were really watching us closely and if they weren't gang members, they sure looked the part. I know it sounds judgmental, but that was the reality.

- LOUD: There was some thumping bass music that could be heard all throughout the hotel courtyard, and very loud in our room. It could not be drowned out no matter how much white noise we had on. The front desk clerk said he'd "look into it" but it went on another hour well after 2 am. THEN at 5:30 we were awakened by some unexplained thumping (not rhythmic enough to be coitus) and could not go back to sleep.

- BAD SERVICE: The front desk clerk was a cliche for every sleazy hotel worker you've ever seen in a movie. Rude and CREEPY to the max.

This place should be condemned. Worst $80 I've ever spent, we should've just slept in the rental car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#33 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
1.0 mi away
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#32 of 74 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada San Jose Downtown Near Convention Center
1.7 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#55 of 74 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Airport
Days Inn San Jose Airport
#46 of 74 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rose Garden

Property: Hotel Rose Garden
Address: 1860 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126 (Formerly Super 8 San Jose Airport/Convention Ctr. Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rose Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rose Garden is San Jose's newest independent hotel. We have recently converted from Super 8 San Jose and are embarking on a project to develop one of San Jose's premier boutique style motels. The Hotel Rose Garden is located just 1 mile from San Jose's Mineta International Airport. Located on The Alameda off of Interstate I-880, The Hotel Rose Garden is located in The Heart of Silicon Valley offering a perfect place to stay for visitors to San Jose or business travelers looking for a corporate housing in Silicon Valley and The South Bay. With hundreds of rose bushes throughout the hotel, The Hotel Rose Garden invites you to our beautiful San Jose accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Rose Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - San Jose Airport/Santa Clara Area Hotel San Jose
Super 8 San Jose
Super Eight San Jose
San Jose Super Eight
San Jose Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing